Union Territories of India

Map of Union Territories of India

separator Click here for Customized Maps arrow custom map
Print Email Save Buy Now 
*Map of Union Territories of India. Disclaimer

The Government of India and Union territories form a part of the skeletal structure of the Republic of India. The Union territories are under direct administrative rule of the central government with its center at the national capital city of Delhi.

The Government of India and Union territories are notionally administered by the Indian President. The Indian President delegates the practical aspects of his or her administrative responsibilities to an Administrator specifically appointed for a specific Union territory. The Administrator of each Union territory has a functional responsibility independent of his peer Administrators in other Union territories. The Union territories are further subdivided into smaller administrative blocks for effective governance. Villages form the smallest area of administration. Each village has a representative administrative Gram Panchayat. A Gram Panchayat may have administrative control of a number of villages.

The list of Union territories included in the Republic of India constitution is:
  1. Andaman and Nicobar Islands
  2. Dadra and Nagar Haveli
  3. Lakshadweep
  4. Puducherry
  5. Chandigarh
  6. Daman and Diu
  7. New Delhi

Among the seven Union Territories listed above, National Capital Territory of Delhi and Puducherry have their own Legislative Assemblies and cabinet led by Chief Ministers. These two territories have more democratic powers than the other five territories wherein an Administrator nominated by the President of India is handling the administration.

The President is the Constitutional head of the Executive of the Indian Republic. The Union territories are under the direct administrative jurisdiction of the President. The President has his or her offices in the National Capital Territory of Delhi.

Last Updated on : December 14, 2015


Union Territories of India



List of Indian States




How Many States Have Two-tier Legislature? There are seven states in India having bicameral (two-tier) legislation. Bicameral legislature is a legislative system having two-tier… Read More...
Which State has the Highest Sex Ratio? Kerala has the highest sex ratio. Sex ratio is a valuable source for finding the ratio… Read More...
Which State has the maximum number of Operational SEZs? Tamil Nadu has the maximum numbers of operational SEZs. SEZ – Special Economic Zone –… Read More...

Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Share to Twitter Share to Twitter Share