2010 Commonwealth Games, Cycling

Cycling is one of the optional sport events that take place at the Commonwealth games. The event is meant for both men and women. Cycling made its debut at the 1934 Commonwealth Games organized in London.

Since then it has been a part of all the Commonwealth Games. In 1934 while the number of participating nations in cycling was just 7, in 2006 Melbourne Commonwealth Games, the number increased significantly to 37 countries. Cycling was among the most awaited sports in the Commonwealth games, 2010 held in Delhi and promises to be a part of the 2014 Commonwealth games as well. Among the three disciplines of cycling, namely, road, track and mountain bike, there is the choice to include either any or all of them.

Track Cycling

Competition in the track cycling event was held according to the rules of UCI i.e. the International Cycling Union. The event was scheduled to take place from 5th to 8th October, 2010. The list of events included in this category is as follows.

  • 4000 m Individual Pursuit (Men)
  • 1 km Time Trial (Men)
  • 40 km Point Race (Men)
  • Keirin (Men)
  • Sprint (Men)
  • 4000 m Team Pursuit (Men)
  • 20 km Scratch Race (Men)
  • Team Sprint (Men)
  • 500 m Time Trial (Women)
  • 25 km Women's Point Race (Women)
  • Sprint (Women)
  • Individual Pursuit (Women)
  • Team Sprint(Women)
  • 10 km Scratch Race(Women)

Road Cycling

The events in this category are as follows.

  • "Mass Start" event on 10th October 2010, at Vijay Chowk
  • "Time Trial" event on 13th October 2010, at Noida Express Highway
  • 40 km Individual Time Trial (Men)
  • 167 km Road Race (Men)
  • 29 km Individual Time Trial (Women)
  • 100 km Road Race (Women)

Mountain Bike

The events in this category are as follows.

  • Men Mountain Bike (57.6km)
  • Women Mountain Bike (44.8km)
Apart from this "para-cycling" is a track "para-sport" which is optional and meant for the disabled athletes.

3 players per event were allowed to participate except for the "Mass Start Road Race", "Road Time Trial" and "Team Pursuit" where 6, 3 and 4 competitors respectively were allowed to participate. 10 gold medals, 10 silver medals and 10 bronze medals were at stake for the cycling event in men's category while in the same event the women battled for 8 gold, silver and bronze medals each. I.G. Sports Complex, Delhi played host to the cycling event at the Commonwealth Games, 2010.

Below is a list of the results of cycling in the Commonwealth Games, 2010.

Event Men Position Country
Track - 1km Time Trial Scott Sunderland 1 - Gold Australia
Track - 4000m Individual Pursuit Jack Bobridge 3 - Bronze Northern Ireland
Track - 4000m Team Luke Folwell 1 - Gold England
Track - Keirin Josiah Ng Onn Lam 1 - Gold Malaysia
Track - Points Race Cameron Meyer 1 - Gold Australia
Track - Scratch Race Cameron Meyer 1 - Gold Australia
Track - Sprint Sam Webster 1 - Gold New Zealand
Track - Team Sprint 1 - Gold Australia

Event Women Position Country
Track - 3000m Individual Pursuit Alison Shanks 1 - Gold New Zealand
Track - 500m Time Trial Anna Meares 3 - Bronze Australia
Track - Points Race Megan Dunn 1 - Gold Australia
Track - Scratch Race Megan Dunn 1 - Gold Australia
Track - Sprint Anna Meares 1 - Gold Australia
Track - Team Sprint 1 - Gold Australia

Last Updated on : 26 October 2010