2010 Commonwealth Games, Hockey

Hockey or field hockey was introduced for the first time in 1998 Commonwealth Games, held in Kuala Lumpur. This is one of the core sporting events of the Commonwealth Games.

Hockey in the Commonwealth Games follows the rules and regulations of the International Hockey Federation also known as FIH. The event format mainly comprises 'two pools', each having 5 teams, two leading teams from each pool go to the finals.

Australia is in the first position of the medals tally chart of hockey in Commonwealth Games. The country has won 6 medals that include 5 gold medals and 1 bronze medal. England with 4 medals is in the 2nd position; this country has won two silver medals and two bronze medals.

India, Malaysia, New Zealand and Pakistan have won two medals each. India and Australia are the two countries to have won gold medals in hockey. In the 2006 Commonwealth Games, Australia won the gold medal, Pakistan won the silver medal and Malaysia won the bronze medal in the men's section, while Australia won the gold medal, India won the silver medal and England won the bronze medal in the women's section.

Ten countries participated in the hockey event in the 2010 Commonwealth Games, which was held in Delhi. The entire event was divided into preliminary, classification and finals.

All the ten countries battled for 3 medals. The hockey events were held at the Major Dyan Chand National Stadium or MDC National Stadium and the training venues include MDC National Stadium, Shivaji Stadium and Yamuna Sports Complex.

Below is a list of the winning teams in Hockey at the 2010 Commonwealth Games

Event Position Country
Hockey Men 1 - Gold Australia

Event Position Country
Hockey Women 1 - Gold Australia

Last Updated on : 26 October 2010