2010 Commonwealth Games, Tennis

Tennis first originated in the later half of 19th century in UK. It was then known as "lawn tennis". It has been a very popular sport since its inception with million of followers worldwide.

Even though tennis has been approved at the Commonwealth Games, long back, as an optional sport, unfortunately it has not yet made its appearance. Indian Olympic Association has been lucky to have won a hard bargain, as a result of which tennis will make its debut at the 2010 Commonwealth Games, India.

The various categories in the tennis sport event of Commonwealth Games, 2010 are listed below.

  • Men's Singles Event
  • Women's Single Event
  • Men's Doubles Event
  • Women's Doubles Event
  • Mixed Doubles Event
The number of medals which will be at stake are as follows.
  • 2 Gold, 2 Silver and 2 Bronze for the men's events
  • 2 Gold, 2 Silver and 2 Bronze for the women's events
  • 1 Gold, 1 Silver and 1 Bronze for the mixed doubles event
The size of the team for mixed doubles event is 4 women and 4 men. 3 sportsmen per CGA can enter the tennis singles event, at the maximum. Whereas 2 teams per CGA can enter the doubles and mixed doubles tennis event.

R.K. Khanna Tennis Complex, Delhi will host the 2010 Commonwealth Games Tennis sport event. The training venues for this purpose are Siri Fort Sports Complex - and R.K. Khanna Tennis Stadium. The event will take place from 4th to 10th October, 2010.

Tennis also featured at the 2000 "Commonwealth Youth Games Programme" at Edinburg and 2008 Pune.

Last Updated on : 14 September 2010