2010 Commonwealth Games, Net Ball

Netball is one of the core sport events that features at the Commonwealth Games. It made its entry at the Commonwealth Games of 1998 in Kuala Lumpur. Since then it has become a very popular sport at the Commonwealth Games. The sport is meant exclusively for women.

Netball was among the most awaited sports at the 2010 Commonwealth Games in Delhi. Some of the best Netball teams of the world participated in the competition. There were 6 teams which were divided into two pools. Each team had 12 players and they competed as per the "round-robin" format. The pools were divided in the following manner.

Pool A

  • New Zealand
  • Papua New Guinea
  • England
  • Cook Islands
  • Barbados
  • South Africa

Pool B

  • Australia
  • Malawi
  • Jamaica
  • Samoa
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • India
The number of medals for which the twelve nations competed in the Netball event was 1 gold, 1 silver and 1 bronze. The Netball event at the Commonwealth Games, 2010 was held at the Thyagaraj Sports Complex, Delhi. The training venues were Delhi University and Thyagaraj Sports Complex. The events will were scheduled to take place from 4th to 14th October, 2010.

The winning team for the 2010 Commonwealth Games, Net Ball was New

Event Position Country
Netball 1 - Gold New Zealand

Last Updated on : 26 October 2010