Indian Subcontinent Map

Click any country on the map and get the detailed map
Indian Subcontinent Map
Indian Subcontinent Map Iran political map Turkmenistan political map Uzbekistan political map Tajikistan political map Afghanistan political map Pakistan map India political map Srilanka map Andaman and nicobar map Bangladesh political map Nepal political map Indonesia political map Bhutan map China map Thailand political map Myanmar political map
Print Email Save  

Disclaimer: All efforts have been made to make this image accurate. However Compare Infobase Limited and its directors do not own any responsibility for the correctness or authenticity of the same.

A place can be determined as a subcontinent only when it belongs to a continent, but is politically or geographically a separate entity or when it is smaller compared to a continent.
India is also referred as a subcontinent because of its distinct landmass. Even though it might have all the features required to be a continent, it cannot be called as one because it is not that big as it should be. However, originally, India was a continent with large landmass. Later after separations, it became Asia's part, but the area is separated by the Himalayan region.

India is not the only part of Indian subcontinent, but other SAARC (South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation) countries - Sri Lanka, Pakistan, Bhutan, Nepal, Bangladesh and Maldives - are also a part of the Indian subcontinent. This group, when combined together, form the Indian subcontinent. These regions were initially India's part, but were separated because of political or geographical reasons. The climatic conditions of each of these seven countries match because they are joined together geographically. The other continents of Asia have different geographical and climatic features. Afghanistan is also a part of the Indian Subcontinent. The region might also include Aksai Chin's disputed territory. This territory was once a part of Jammu and Kashmir's British Indian princely state, but is Xinjiang's Chinese autonomous regions' administered part.

The Indian subcontinent is one of Asia's regions, which is located on the Indian tectonic plate. Both the terms - 'South Asia' and 'Indian subcontinent' are used in an interchangeable manner. South Asia's religions suggest that South Asia and Indian Subcontinent is one and the same thing. It is only because of political sensitivities that some call it 'South Asian Subcontinent' or 'South Asia', some term it 'Indo-Pak Subcontinent' and some refer to it as 'Indian subcontinent'. However, when someone uses the Indian subcontinent for South Asia, small island countries of Maldives and Sri Lanka might not be included, and Nepal and Tibet might be or intermittently excluded, depending on what context they are mentioned.

As far as the geography is concerned, Indian subcontinent is south-central Asia's peninsular area. It is mostly is placed on the Indian Plate, separated from Asia. The Indian Plate has most of South Asia, extended from the Himalayan region to the Indian Ocean, which also includes some areas of Eastern Indonesia, Southern China, Karakoram and Kuen Lun ranges. However, this doesn't include Kohistan, Ladakh, Balochistan or the range of Hindu Kush. The Indian Subcontinent - with countries like India, Bangladesh, Pakistan, Nepal, Sri Lanka, Maldives and Bhutan - covers an area of about 4.4 million kilometres. This area is Asia's 10% or the world's 2.4% of the land.

Last Updated on :February 13, 2019

  Buy this Map  



Which States Share Boundary with China?India, in total, shares land borders with 6 sovereign countries. China is one of those. Below are the Indian states which share borders with the country. 1. Jammu and Kashmir This northern state of India is mostly located in the Himalayan mountains. It shares a… Read More...
Which States Share Boundaries with Pakistan? There are four states that share a border with Pakistan, namely, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, and Gujarat. The India Pakistan Border is quite intriguing. Since India has installed 1,50,000 flood lights on… Read More...
Which Places in India Still Largely Speak Sanskrit?Sanskrit is considered as Dev Bhasha, the language of Gods. It has a history of around 3500 years. It used to be a primary language of ancient India. Its earliest form Vedic Sanskrit, was prevalent from 1500 500 BCE. However, it is fading… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow for border and boundary demarcations