West Bengal District Map

Click any District on the map and get the detailed District Map

District Map of West Bengal

Click here for Customized Maps
District Map of Westbengal Kolkata Barasat City Map Bankura City Map  Koch Bihar City Map  Suri City Map Bankura Barddhaman Birbhum Darjeeling Haora Hooghly North Dinajpur Jalpaiguri  Koch Bihar Maldah District Murshidabad East Medinipur Nadia North 24-Parganas Puruliya South 24-Parganas South Dinajpur West Medinipur NEPAL SIKKIM BHUTAN BIHAR ASSAM TRIPURA BANGLADESH JHARKHAND ORISSA
Print Email Save   Buy Now 
*The Map showing all the districts of West Bengal. Disclaimer

West Bengal located in eastern India is the country's fourth most populous state. With Kolkata (formerly Calcutta) as its capital, West Bengal has two very distinct natural regions; the Gangetic plains in the north and the Himalayas in the north.
West Bengal is famous for its cultural heritage and for being home to India's Nobel Laureate Rabindranath Tagore and Raja Ram Mohan Roy, regarded by many as the Father of the Bengal Renaissance Movement. The population of West Bengal is 91,347,736 (2011 census) and is spread over an area of 88,752 km sq.

Districts and Administration in West Bengal: West Bengal is divided into 19 districts and each district is governed by a district collector or a district magistrate, appointed by the Indian Administrative Service or the West Bengal Civil Services. Each district is further divided into sub divisions, governed by a sub divisional magistrate and then into blocks. Blocks comprise of panchayats and town municipalities.

Tourism in West Bengal: West Bengal is blessed with natural and architectural heritage. There are many places of interest in West Bengal such as; the terracotta temples of Bishnupur, Hazarduari Palace, Victoria Memorial, Howrah Bridge, Darjeeling Himalayan Railways and the Kolkata Botanical Gardens among others.

List of West Bengal Districts:

DistrictHeadquartersAreaPopulation As of 2011
BankuraBankura6,882 km2 (2,657 square mile35,96,292
BardhamanBardhaman7,024 km2 (2,712 square mile)77,23,663
BirbhumSuri4,545 km2 (1,755 square mile)3502387
Cooch BeharCooch Behar]3,387 km2 (1,308 square mile)28,22,780
DarjeelingDarjeeling3,149 km2 (1,216 square mile)1842034
East MidnaporeTamluk4,785 km2 (1,847 square mile)50,94,238
HooghlyChinsura3,149 km2 (1,216 square mile)55,20,389
HowrahHowrah1,467 km2 (566 square mile)4273009
JalpaiguriJalpaiguri6,227 km2 (2,404 square mile)3403204
KolkataKolkata185 km2 (71 square mile)4486679
MaldaEnglish Bazar3,733 km2 (1,441 square mile)3997970
MurshidabadBaharampur5,324 km2 (2,056 square mile)71,02,430
NadiaKrishnanagar3,927 km2 (1,516 square mile)5168488
North 24 ParganasBarasat4,094 km2 (1,581 square mile)10082852
North DinajpurRaiganj3,140 km2 (1,210 square mile)2441794
PuruliaPurulia6,259 km2 (2,417 square mile)2927965
South 24 ParganasAlipore9,960 km2 (3,850 square mile)81,53,176
South DinajpurBalurghat2,219 km2 (857 square mile)16,70,931
West MidnaporeMedinipur9,296 km2 (3,589 square mile)59,43,300
Total-88,752 km2 (34,267 square mile)91347736

Last Updated on : 22 March 2013