Birbhum District Map

District Map of Birbhum

separator Click here for Customized Maps arrow custom map
District Map of Birbhum Murshidabad Suri City Map Barddhaman JHARKHAND
Print Email Save Buy Now 
*Birbhum District Map highlights the National Highways, Major Roads, District Headquarter, etc. Disclaimer

  Major Districts of West Bengal  
Darjiling District Map Bankura District Map Haora District Map Birbhum District Map
Darjiling District MapBankura District MapHaora District MapBirbhum District Map
Nadia District Map Murshidabad District Map Medinipur District Map Jalpaiguri District Map
Nadia District MapMurshidabad District MapMedinipur District MapJalpaiguri District Map
  other districts of West Bengal  >>

Birbhum - West Bengal

In West Bengal, India lies the state of Birbhum. It is an administrative district and is the northernmost district of Burdwan division from one of the three administrative divisions of the state.
It is fondly called "the land of red soil" and is famous for the topography and its varied heritage. Prominent factors of the district are the alluvial farmlands, the bushy region, the history of the district and of course the Santiniketan, which is renowned worldwide. Plenty of rivers flow from the district making it very fertile and apt for agriculture.

Location of Birbhum

The district is situated between 23 degree 32'30" and 24 degree 35' 0" north latitude and 87 degree 5' 25" and 88 degree 1' 40 " east longitudes and occupies around 1,755 sq kilometers. It is surrounded by districts as well as rivers. In between the districts of Birbhum and Bardhama flows the river Ajay. It forms the southern base and here lies the state of Bardhama. Jharkhand state is at the northern and western border and to the east is Murshidabad.

Towns and Villages

The district headquarters lie in Siuri and is the center of administration. There are various important towns like the Murarai, Nalhati, Rampur Hat, Muhammad Bazar, Mayureshwar, Labpur, Khyarsole, Dubrajpur, Ilam Bazar and Bolpur. The places can be easily located in the map that provides details of reaching the place and other important places. Some of the important villages are Gadadhapur, Swadinpur, Nrayanpur, Ganutla and Tantipara.

Transport in Birbhum

The district boosts of highways and major roads ways. National Highway No. 60 runs through the center of the district connecting it to various places and also other states and rest of the country. Rail line also passes through the district and connects conveniently with the rest of the country. The main railway station can be found at Siuri. Total 16 express trains stops at this station. The station belongs to eastern railway, Asansol Jn. Nalhati Jn railway station also connects to other neighboring stations like Takipur, Swadinpur, Mayureshwar, Chinpal and Bataspur.

About Birbham

Birbhum had a population of 3,502,387 in 2011 and the density of the population was 770 per kilometer square. The literacy rate was 70.90 percent in 2011 and the sex ratio was 926 girls for every 1000 boys. The district comprises of three divisions, Suri sadar, Bolpur and Rampurhat. Hindus can be seen prominently in the district that comprise of 65% population, followed by 33% of Muslims. There are other religious groups as well.

Facts of Birbhum District
StateWest Bengal
District HQSuri
Population (2011)3502404
Sex Ratio956
Area (km2)4545
Density (/km2) 771
Tehsils Bolpur Sriniketan, Dubrajpur, Illambazar, Khoyrasol, Labpur, Mayureswar I, Mayureswar II, Mohammad Bazar, Murarai I, Murarai II, Nalhati I, Nalhati II, Nanoor, Rajnagar, Rampurhat I, Rampurhat II, Sainthia, Suri I, Suri II
Lok Sabha Constituencies Bolpur (Sc), Birbhum
Assembly Constituencies Dubrajpur, Suri, Bolpur, Nanoor, Labhpur, Sainthia, Mayureswar, Rampurhat, Hansan, Nalhati, Murarai
Languages Bengali, Hindi, English, Urdu
Rivers Mayurkashi, Ajay
Lat-Long 23.840626,87.626152
Travel Destinations Santiniketan, Chhatimtala, Dehali, China Bhavana, Black House, Santiniketan Griha, Uttarayana, Shyamali, Udayana, Tarapith, Kankalitala, Fullora Temple, Daldali Lake, Nanoor, Joydev-Kenduli, Bamni Kalibari, Bhabatarini Kalibari, Dangalpara Anandpur Sarbajanin Matrimandir, Radha Ballav Mandir, Shani Mandir, Damodar Mandir, Rabindrapalli Kalibari, Rakshakali Temple, Kendua Dakshin Para Kali Mandir, Shahid Bhagat Singh Park, Nalateswari Temple, Mohammedan Saint Hazrat Data Meheboob Shah Wali, Kalidaha tank, Kaleswar Siva Mandir etc.
Government Colleges/Universities Visva-Bharati University‎, Kabi Joydeb Mahavidyalaya, Kabi Nazrul College, Krishna Chandra College, Sambhunath College, Suri Vidyasagar College, Birbhum Institute of Engineering & Technology, Birbhum Mahavidyalaya, Purni Devi Chaudhuri Girls' College, Turku Hansda-Lapsa Hemram Mahavidyalaya, Chandidas Mahavidyalaya, Rampurhat College, Hiralal Bhakat College, Sailajananda Falguni Smriti Mahavidyalaya etc.

Last Updated on : 24 March 2020



Which States Share Boundary with China?India, in total, shares land borders with 6 sovereign countries. China is one of those. Below are the Indian states which share borders with the country. 1. Jammu and Kashmir This northern state of India is mostly located in the Himalayan mountains. It shares a… Read More...
Which States Share Boundaries with Pakistan? There are four states that share a border with Pakistan, namely, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, and Gujarat. The India Pakistan Border is quite intriguing. Since India has installed 1,50,000 flood lights on… Read More...
Which Places in India Still Largely Speak Sanskrit?Sanskrit is considered as Dev Bhasha, the language of Gods. It has a history of around 3500 years. It used to be a primary language of ancient India. Its earliest form Vedic Sanskrit, was prevalent from 1500 500 BCE. However, it is fading… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow for border and boundary demarcations