Howrah District Map

District Map of Howrah

separator Click here for Customized Maps arrow custom map
District Map of Howrah South Twenty Four Parganas Purba Medinipur Paschim Medinipur Hooghly Kolkata
Print Email Save Buy Now 
*Howrah District Map highlights the National Highways, Major Roads, District Headquarter, etc. Disclaimer

  Major Districts of West Bengal  
Darjiling District Map Bankura District Map Howrah District Map Birbhum District Map
Darjiling District MapBankura District MapHowrah District MapBirbhum District Map
Nadia District Map Murshidabad District Map Medinipur District Map Jalpaiguri District Map
Nadia District MapMurshidabad District MapMedinipur District MapJalpaiguri District Map
  other districts of West Bengal  >>

Howrah - West Bengal

Howrah is also known as Kolkata's twin city. It is quite a populous city and is second largest in the state. The city serves as a major road and rail transport for the people of Kolkata metropolitan region.
The most famous thing about Howrah is the Howrah Bridge, which symbolizes Kolkata as well. The bridge is the world's busiest bridge that connects to the Howrah station, which is again one of the country's largest railway stations.

Howrah Location

Howrah is located at 22.59 degree N 88.31 degree E. Howrah lies to the south east of the state of West Bengal and is one of the important districts. To the north is Hugli district, to the east is North 24 Paraganas. Pashcim Medinipur is to the west of Howrah and to the south is 24 Praganas. The district is also covered by Hoogly River to the east and river Rupnarayan on the west. River Bhagirathi - Hooghly River flows on the east and the south east of the district.

Info on Howrah

In the map of Howrah, you can find the many major roads as well as important places of interest. Visitors should carry a map with them for their guidance to reach their destination using the nearest route. NH-15 passes through the city and one can go to neighboring district using this route. The city is well connected to various other cities in the state via the railway route as well. The head quarter is situated in Howrah city. Some of the important places are the Amta, Jagatballabhpur, Metiaburx, Uluberiay, Bauria, Kolaghat, Bagnan and Syampur.

There are two important national highways, NH-2 and NH 6 that link Howrah to the rest of the country. The Kona expressway connects Vidyasagar Setu to the National Highways. The Howrah railway station is also the biggest in the country and the world as it connects to major cities in the country and is an important terminus for suburban railway services of south eastern and eastern railway. Kolkata and Howrah are connected by four bridges on the River Ganga.

Howrah profile

The population of the district according to the 2011 census was 4,841,638. Male population was 2,502,453 and female population was 2,339,185. The population density was 3,300 people per According to 2011 census, the sex ratio in Howrah was 964 girls per 1000 boys.

Places of attraction

Some of the attractions here are the Belur Math, Howrah Bridge, Indian Botanical garden, and the Howrah railway station.

Facts of Howrah District
StateWest Bengal
District HQHowrah
Population (2011)4850029
Sex Ratio939
Area (km2)1467
Density (/km2) 3300
Tehsils Amta I, Amta II, Bagnan I, Bagnan II, Bally Jagachha, Domjur, Jagatballavpur, Panchla, Sankrail, Shyampur I, Shyampur II, Udaynarayanpur, Uluberia I, Uluberia II
Lok Sabha Constituencies Howrah, Uluberia, Sreerampur
Assembly Constituencies Bally, Howrah Uttar, Howrah Madhya, Shibpur, Howrah Dakshin, Sankrail, Panchla, Uluberia Purba, Uluberia Uttar, Uluberia Dakshin, Shyampur, Bagnan, Amta, Udaynarayanpur, Jagatballavpur, Domjur
Languages Bengali, Hindi
Rivers Hoongly
Lat-Long 22.601333,88.26376
Travel Destinations Howrah Bridge, Indian Botanic Garden, Belur Math & temple, Hooghly Bridge (Vidyasagar Setu), Great Banyan Tree, museum of Anand Niketan Kirtishala, Santragachi Jheel etc.
Government Colleges/Universities Ramakrishna Mission Vivekananda University, Azad Hind Fouz Smriti Mahavidyalaya, Gangadharpur Mahavidyamandir, Ramsaday College, Bagnan College, Jaypur Panchanan Roy College, Shyampur Siddheswari Mahavidyalaya, Sovaranai Memorial College, Bijoy Krishna Girls' College, Lalbaba College, Dr. Kanailal Bhattacharya College, Narasinha Dutt College, Udaynarayanpur Madhabilata Mahavidyalaya, Uluberia College, Prabhu Jagatbandhu College, Puras-Kanpur Haridas Nandi Mahavidyalaya etc.

Last Updated on : 05 July 2023