Council of Architecture

The Council of Architecture was constituted through the Architects Act, 1972, by the Government of India. The Act offers registration of the Architects, the recognized qualifications, standards of education, practice standards to be followed by the architects who are practicing.

The Council of Architecture is bestowed with responsibilities of regulating the education and also the practice of the profession of architecture all over India apart from the registration of the architects. The Government of India has outlined certain Rules while the Council of Architecture has outlined Regulations for this same purpose.

All those persons who want to engage themselves with the profession of ‘Architecture’ should register themselves with the Council of Architecture. After acquiring the relevant education as per the Council of Architecture, the Registration of Architects needs certain qualifications as mentioned in the Architects Act namely “Minimum Standards of Architectural Education Regulations”, 1983.

Once the architect is registered with the Council of Architecture, he is entitled practice architecture as a profession. But he is required to have an up-to-date Certificate of Registration. This registration also enables the architect to use both the style and title of Architect.

The practice and work of the profession of architecture is ruled by the “Architects (Professional Conduct) Regulations,”1989. The Act deals with conditions of engagement, professional etiquette and ethics and architectural competition guidelines, scale of charges, etc. The Council has also prepared guidelines to govern the different aspects of the practice. An architect is needed to stick to professional conduct, the violation of which will amount to professional misconduct.

135 institutions in India provide architectural education that leads to recognized qualifications. These institutions comprise of departments of universities, deemed universities, constituent colleges, affiliated colleges and schools, NITs, IITs, and other autonomous institutions. The Council of Architecture governs the standards of architectural education offered by these institutions. The Council has set up eligibility criteria for admission, standards of staff, course duration, accommodation, examination, course content, etc. The COA looks after the maintenance of these standards by conducting periodical inspections with the help of “Committees of Experts”. The Central Government is from time to time informed by COA about the maintenance of standards by all the architectural institutions. The Council of Architecture also has the right to recommend to the Government of India about the recognition or de-recognition of any qualification.

  Universities in India  
Central Universities
HaryanaKeralaTamil Nadu
Jammu KashmirOrissa 
IIT Universities
IIT bhuIIT indoreIIT mumbai
IIT bhubaneswarIIT kanpurIIT patna
IIT delhiIIT kharagpurIIT rajasthan
IIT gandhinagarIIT madrasIIT roorkee
IIT guwahatiIIT mandiIIT ropar
IIT hyderabad  
NIT Universities
NIT durgapurNIT kurukshetraNIT tiruchirappalli
NIT hamirpurNIT rourkelaNIT warangal
NIT jamshedpurNIT silcharNIT calicut
NIT karnatakaNIT srinagar
Ahmedabad gujarat UniversityMalaviya national institute of technology jaipur
AICTEMangalore University
Aligarh muslim UniversityManipur University
Assam UniversityMathura University
Babasaheb bhimrao ambedkar UniversityMaulana azad national institute of technology bhopal
Banaras hindu UniversityMG University
Bangalore University collegesMizoram University
Bangalore UniversityMother teresa womens University
Barkatullah UniversityMotilal nehru national institute of technology
Bhavnagar universityMumbai University courses
Bikaner UniversityMumbai University
Central institute of agricultural UniversityMysore University
Chandra shekhar azad University of agriculture and technologyNTR University of health sciences
Cochin University of science and technologyNagaland University
Council of architectureNagpur University
Delhi UniversityNational commission for minority educational institutions
Doctor harisingh gaur vishwa vidyalayaNorth eastern hill University
Guru ghasidas vishwavidyalayaNorth gujarat University
Guru nanak dev University in amritsarOpen University
Gurukul kangri UniversityOsmania University hyderabad
Hemwati nandan bahuguna garhwal UniversityPandit dwarka prasad mishra iIITdm kanchipuram
Hemwati nandan bahuguna garwhal UniversityPandit dwarka prasad mishra iIITdm
Hnb garhwal UniversityPondicherry University
Hyderabad central UniversityPune University
IGNOURajiv gandhi indian institute of management
Indian council of historical researchRajiv gandhi technical University
Indian council of philosophical researchRanchi University
Indian council of social science researchSanskrit University
Indian institute of advanced studies iiasSardar vallabhbhai national institute of technology
Indian institute of management bangaloreSastra deemed University
Indian institute of management calcuttaSaurashtra University
Indian institute of management kozhikodeySikkim University
Indian institute of science bangaloreSouth gujarat University
Indira gandhi national tribal UniversityTamil University
Indore UniversityTejpur University
Indraprastha University delhiTripura University
Jalandhar UniversityUniversity grants commission
Jamia millia islamia delhiUniversity of agriculture and technology
Jawaharlal nehru University delhiUniversity of delhi
Jiwaji UniversityUniversity of hyderabad
Kamaraj UniversityUniversity of kolkata
Karnataka state open UniversityUniversity of lucknow
Karnataka UniversityUniversity of petroleum for energy studies
Madhya pradesh bhoj UniversityVeer narmad south gujarat University gujarat
Madurai UniversityVisva bharati shantiniketan
Maharaja sayajirao University barodaVisvesvaraya national institute of technology

Last Updated on : January 14, 2014

Advertise with us
Call Us- 08750051913