Banaras Hindu University

Banaras Hindu University or BHU as it is popularly known as is a Central University situated in Varanasi. The university which is the “largest residential university” of Asia was established in 1916 by Pandit Madan Mohan Malviya by BHU Act, 1915. Sprawling over an area of 2760 acres, BHU has 140 education departments, 55 hostels for both girls and boys and more than 15000 students from all across the country.

Objectives of BHU

To promote and encourage the study of Sanskrit Literature and Hindu Shastras with the aim to popularize and preserve the culture, thought and the greatness of India to the whole world.

To promote and facilitate research and learning in Arts, Sciences and other branches To provide and spread scientific, professional and technical knowledge coupled with practical training which would help in promotion of indigenous industries.

Build the character of the youth by the infiltration of ethics and religion through education. Banaras Hindu University is has 2 academic subunits namely Faculty and Institute. There are 16 faculties in BHU which are

  • Faculty of Arts
  • Faculty of Education
  • Faculty of Commerce
  • Faculty of Law
  • Faculty of Performing Arts
  • Faculty of Management Studies
  • Faculty of Science
  • Faculty of Dental Sciences
  • Faculty of Ayurveda
  • Faculty of Social Sciences
  • Faculty of Visual Arts
  • Sanskrit Vidya Dharma Vijnan Sankaya
The University comprise of 4 Institutes
  • Institute of Agricultural Sciences (IAS)
  • Institute of Technology
  • Institute of Medical Sciences
  • Institute of Environment and Sustainable Development
Apart from these, the university also houses research centres and interdisciplinary schools. These can be listed as below.
  • DBT-BHU Interdisciplinary School of Life Sciences advance research and education
  • DBT Centre of Genetic Disorders,
  • DST Centre for Interdisciplinary Mathematical Sciences,
  • DBT Centre for Food Science and Technology
  • Nanoscience and Technology Center
  • Centre for Environmental Science and Technology
  • Hydrogen Energy Centre
  • Centre for Experimental Medicine and Surgery
  • UGC Advanced Immunodiagnostic Training and Research Centre
  • Center for Women's Studies and Development
  • Malviya Center for Peace Research
  • Center for the Study of Nepal
  • Center for Rural Integrated Development
  • Centre for Study of Social Exclusion and Inclusive Policy
The present Chancellor and Vice- Chancellor of the University are Dr. Karan Singh and Prof. D.P. Singh respectively. After Delhi University, BHU is the 2nd best university in the area of research. Some of the facilities at the university are Central Library, Hostels, Health Services, Students Council, Sports & co-curricular etc.

Last Updated on : March 28, 2016