Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Jodhpur

Indian Institute of Technology Jodhpur, or IIT Jodhpur, as it is popularly known, is one of the new IITs in the country. IIT Kanpur is the mentor IIT that is bestowed with the responsibility to look after the activities of IIT Jodhpur.

The first academic session of the Indian Institute of Technology, Jodhpur commenced from August 2008. Initially, four-year B.Tech. programme was offered to the students in three disciplines, namely Electrical Engineering, Computer Science and Engineering, and Mechanical Engineering.

The curriculum, syllabus and the course structure are the same as that of IIT Kanpur, the mentor IIT. The classes were also held at IIT Kanpur. The Indian Institute of Technology, Jodhpur was a part of the list of eight new IITs proposed by Ministry of Human Resource Development (MHRD) under the Government of India.

Since November 2009, after the final approval, IIT Jodhpur in association with the state government is working hard on shifting the temporary campus of IIT Jodhpur from IIT Kanpur. This institute for higher education in engineering and technology is situated on National Highway 65 which is 22 Kms away from the city of Jodhpur. The institution's campus is spread over an area of approximately 900 acres.

For a few years, the administrative and the academic blocks of the IIT Jodhpur will be located at the Engineering College, Ratanada in Jodhpur. On 27 February 2010, IIT Jodhpur signed an MoU with the JNV University.

Academic Programmes at Indian Institute of Technology, Jodhpur

The Indian Institute of Technology, Jodhpur, is presently offering undergraduate programmes in three disciplines:
  1. Bachelor of Technology in Electrical Engineering.
  2. Bachelor of Technology in Computer Science and Engineering.
  3. Bachelor of Technology in Mechanical Engineering.
Admission to all these courses is done through JEE (Joint Entrance Examination). 40 students in every branch are selected and admitted after the completion of their 10+2 schooling.


Last Updated on : March 25, 2016

Which cities in India have the metro railway system? The Metro rail service is operational in 10 cities in India. These are Kolkata, Delhi, Bengaluru, Gurugram, Mumbai, Chennai, Jaipur, Kochi, Hyderabad, and Lucknow. The Kolkata Metro rail is the oldest metro… Read More...
Which states in India have less population than Delhi? Delhi has a population of approximately 18.6 million people, as per the latest census. Delhi's area is much less as compared to many states and Union territories in India. But in… Read More...
Which State is biggest Jute producer? West Bengal is the largest producer of jute in India. India is the largest producer of jute in the world. Approximately 60 percent of the total world produce of jute is cultivated in India… Read More...

We follow for border and boundary demarcations