National Institute of Technology, Rourkela

National Institute of Technology, Rourkela situated in Orissa, previously called the Regional Engineering College (REC), is among the leading institutes of Technical Education in India. It is the joint venture of the Orissa Government and the Government of India. NIT Rourkela came into existence in 1961 under the vision of Biju Patnaik, the then Chief Minister of Orissa. The campus of National Institute of Technology, Rourkela is located in the east of Rourkela steel city and spreads across an area of 2.62 kmĀ².

This institute which has been ranked by TEQIP as the 2nd best NIT of India for 2009 has also been given the status of a Deemed University and an Institute of National Importance.

This institute of technology aims at producing top class Scientists and Engineers in different disciplines of Science and Engineering. Foreign collaborators and funding agencies namely Indo-U.K. REC and World Bank cum Swiss Development Corporation has helped in modernizing this engineering institute in India.

National Institute of Technology, Rourkela till the present day has been successful in maintaining and contributing considerably in the field of techno economic growth of the country.

Academic Departments at National Institute of Technology, Rourkela

The institute has many academic departments in Engineering, management, Science and Humanities.
  • Biotechnology and Medical Engineering
  • Chemical Engineering
  • Ceramic Engineering
  • Civil Engineering
  • Computer Science & Engineering
  • Electronics & Communication Engineering
  • Electronics & Instrumentation Engineering
  • Electrical Engineering
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Mining Engineering
  • Metallurgical & Materials Engineering
  • Chemistry
  • Applied Mathematics
  • Physics
  • Life science
  • Humanities & Social Sciences
  • School of Management
Academic Programmes at National Institute of Technology, Rourkela

National Institute of Technology, Rourkela, offers diverse undergraduate, post graduate and doctoral programmes in different disciplines of Engineering, Science and Humanities.

Under graduate Courses

  1. Biotech & Medical Engineering Ceramic
  2. Civil Engineering
  3. Chemical Engineering
  4. CSE
  5. Electronics Engineering
  6. Electrical Engineering
  7. Metallurgy Engineering
  8. Mechanical Engineering
  9. Mining Engineering
  1. Maths,
  2. Chemistry
  3. Physics,
Post graduate Courses

  1. Biotechnology and Medical Engineering (Specialization in Biotechnology)
  2. Chemical Engineering (Specialization in Chemical Engineering,,Information Security )
  3. Ceramic Engineering (Specialization in Ceramic Engineering)
  4. Electronics and Communication Engineering (Specialization in Telematics & Signal Processing, VLSI Design & Embedded System )
  5. Electrical Engineering (Specialization in Electronics system& Communication, Power Control and Drives)
  6. Mechanical Engineering (Specialization in Production Engineering, thermal Engineering, Machine design and analysis)
  7. Metallurgical and Materials Engineering (Specialization in Metallurgical & Materials Engineering)
  8. Mining Engineering (Specialization in Mining Engineering
  1. Physics
  2. Maths
  3. Chemistry
Admission to undergraduate programmes i.e. B.Tech is done through AIEEE or All India Engineering Entrance Examination while M. Tech admissions are done through GATE.

Centre of Excellence
  • Centre for Industrial Electronics & Robotics (Electrical Engineering)
  • Centre for Industrial Refrigeration & Cryogenics (Mechanical Engineering)
  • Centre for Nanomaterials (Ceramic Engineering)
  • Materials Engineering Centre (Metallurgical and Materials Engineering)
The National Institute of Technology, Rourkela offers it students with good placement facilities. Every year many firms and companies come down to this college of engineering for recruitment purposes. The students of the institute highly benefits from this facility provided by the institute.

Last Updated on : March 30, 2016

Which Indian state is the largest producer of bauxite?The state of Odisha is the largest producer of bauxite in India. India has abundant resources of bauxite and serves as a raw material in the production of aluminium. As per the report of the Ministry of Mines, India stood at the 7th position in… Read More...
Which Indian city is famously known as the "Manchester City of India"?The city of Ahmedabad in the Gujarat state is famously known as the "Manchester City of India". This name was given to this city by a popular textile center in the Manchester of Great Britain, adhering to the striking similarities of Ahmedabad's prospering cotton textile… Read More...
Which Indian state is the largest producer of coffee?Karnataka state is the largest producer of coffee in India. The state contributed about 70% of the total production of coffee in India during 2016-17 with 2.33 lakh MT coffee production. The main variety of coffee grown in Karnataka is Robusta, but the state also… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow for border and boundary demarcations