Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Kharagpur

The Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur popularly called IIT Kharagpur and sometimes as IIT KGP is an institute of engineering and technology. It was set up in 1951 by the Government of India. This autonomous body of higher education has been recognized as one of the Institutes of National Importance.
It is also among the top engineering institutions in the country. IIT Kharagpur campus is the largest among all the other IITs with an area of 2100 acres and maximum number of students and departments.

The Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur which was originally situated in Esplanade Calcutta, moved to the permanent campus at Hijli, Kharagpur in September 1950. It is 120 kms from Kolkata and 5 kms from the Kharagpur railway station. Besides the main campus, the institute also has one extension centre located at Kolkata to offer continuing education and distance learning courses.

Programmes offered at Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur

  • Undergraduate Courses

    1. Bachelor of Technology (B.Tech.)
    2. Bachelor of Architecture (B.Arch.)
    3. 5 year integrated Master of Science
    4. Undergraduate Medical Education Courses like MBBS

    B.Tech is a 4 years programme divided into 8 semesters. The 1st year curriculam of the B.Tech. courses have subjects from various departments. In the 2nd year the students are required to take those courses which are exclusive to the respective. These courses are called depth courses. Apart from these, the students also undertake varied inter-disciplinary programmes called breadth courses. Individual courses on Social Science and Humanities, Management and Information technology are also necessary. The 3rd year B.Tech. comprise of compulsory industrial training.

  • Postgraduate and Doctoral Programmes

    1. Master of Technology (M.Tech.)
    2. Master of Business Administration (MBA)
    3. Master of Sciences (M.Sc.)
    4. Postgraduate Diploma in Information Technology (PGDIT),
    5. Master in Medical Science and Technology (MMST)
    6. Master of City Planning (MCP),
    7. Postgraduate Diploma in Intellectual Property Law (PGDIPL)
    8. Postgraduate Diploma in Maritime Operation & Management (PGDMOM)
    9. Doctor of Philosophy degree (Ph.D.)

Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur also offers "Dual Degree programmes" in certain specializations and branches

2 new MBA programmes that will be commencing from July 2010 are
  • 1. E-MBA at Kolkata for all industries
  • 2. KI-MBA at Bhubaneswar for knowledge industries
Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur provides Continuing Education Programme (CEP) for scientists and engineers so that they can learn about new technologies and other developments.

One department that has been recently established is the Centre for Ocean, River, Atmosphere and Land Science (CORALs). It is an academic and research department in earth sciences.

IIT Kharagpur has 8 multi-disciplinary centres or schools, 13 schools of excellence, and 19 academic departments. These are:
  • Aerospace Engineering
  • Architecture & Regional Planning
  • Biotechnology
  • Agricultural & Food Engineering
  • Chemical Engineering
  • Chemistry
  • Computer Science & Engineering
  • Civil Engineering
  • Cryogenic Engineering
  • Electrical Engineering
  • Center for Educational Technology
  • Electronics & Electrical Communication Engineering
  • Geology & Geophysics
  • Humanities & Social Sciences
  • G S Sanyal School of Telecommunications
  • Industrial Engineering & Management
  • Materials Science
  • Information Technology
  • Mathematics
  • Medical Science & Technology
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Metallurgical & Materials Engineering
  • Ocean Engineering & Naval Architecture
  • Mining Engineering
  • Oceans, Rivers, Atmosphere and Land Sciences
  • Rajiv Gandhi School of Intellectual Property Law
  • Physics & Meteorology
  • Ranbir and Chitra Gupta School of Infrastructure Design and Management
  • Rubber Technology Centre
  • Rural Development Centre
  • Reliability Engineering Centre
  • School of Water Resources
  • Vinod Gupta School of Management
The other amenities of the institute Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur are civic hospital, 6 guest houses, 4 nationalised banks, railway reservation counter, 4 schools, water pumping station, telephone exchange, a market, six restaurants, electrical sub-station, and a garbage disposal section for the daily needs of the residents

Admission to the undergraduate and postgraduate programmes in IIT Kharagpur is done according to the entrance examinations.

Admission to Ph.D. and M.S. is through written test and personal interview.

Admission to undergraduate courses is through IIT-JEE.

The admissions to postgraduate programmes (M.Tech.) are made primarily through the Graduate Aptitude Test in Engineering (GATE).

The Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur is the best engineering college in India as per India Today in 2001, 2002, 2003 and 2007. It was also among the top 500 universities of the world in the Shanghai Jiao Tong University's Academic Ranking of World Universities (2006).

Last Updated on : March 25, 2016

Essay on Republic Day (26th January) for Students and Teachers Essay on Republic Day (26th January) for Students and Teachers “Long years ago we made a tryst with destiny,… Read More...
Writing a Great Republic Day Speech Writing a Great Republic Day Speech Looking to write a terrific Republic Day speech this 26th January? Republic day is one of the three… Read More...
National Mathematics Day Observed in India to Hike The Maths Tempo National Mathematics Day Observed in India to Hike The Maths Tempo Mathematics is a subject which many students are afraid of. Clearing a maths exam is a daunting task for many students, and… Read More...
UPPSC Exam 2019 - Eligibility, Date, Exam, Pattern and Syllabus UPPSC Exam 2019 - Eligibility, Date, Exam, Pattern and Syllabus UPPCS Exam Eligibility Current information on UPPCS Exam 2019 eligibility: For Age Relaxation in case of Emergency Commissioned /Short Service Commissioned Officers: The commission has… Read More...

Which States Share Boundary with China?India, in total, shares land borders with 6 sovereign countries. China is one of those. Below are the Indian states which share borders with the country. 1. Jammu and Kashmir This northern state of India is mostly located in the Himalayan mountains. It shares a… Read More...
Which States Share Boundaries with Pakistan? There are four states that share a border with Pakistan, namely, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, and Gujarat. The India Pakistan Border is quite intriguing. Since India has installed 1,50,000 flood lights on… Read More...
Which Places in India Still Largely Speak Sanskrit?Sanskrit is considered as Dev Bhasha, the language of Gods. It has a history of around 3500 years. It used to be a primary language of ancient India. Its earliest form Vedic Sanskrit, was prevalent from 1500 500 BCE. However, it is fading… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow for border and boundary demarcations