National Institute of Technology, Durgapur

The National Institute of Technology, Durgapur previously known as Regional Engineering College, Durgapur, was brought into existence by an Act of Parliament in the year 1960. It is among the 8 colleges that were established with the aim to boost up the engineering education in India and give it a new direction. This in turn would help in fostering national integration. It is a leading Technological Institution, fully-funded by the Indian Government.

This University of technical education awards B.Tech, M.C.A., M.Sc., M.B.A., M.Tech. and Ph.D. programmes. The Institute gives education in diverse disciplines like Civil Engineering, Chemical Engineering, Computer Science and Engineering, Electronics and Communication Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Metallurgical and Materials Engineering, Biotechnology, Information Technology, Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics, Materials Science, Management Studies and Environmental science.

Candidates to under graduate programmes are selected through AIEEE, an all India examination while post graduate students are admitted through Graduate Aptitude Test in Engineering and National Institute of Technology MCA Common Entrance Test (NIMCET).

In August 2007 NIT Durgapur was recognized as an Institute of National Importance. Before the year 2005, it was under the control of Burdwan University. It is an excellent centre of education that has helped in fulfilling the requirements of the country in engineering, technology, science and management. The institute also facilitates and promotes research oriented activities.

Academic Programmes at National Institute of Technology, Durgapur

Undergraduate Programmes (B.Tech.)
  • Biotechnology
  • Civil Engineering
  • Chemical Engineering
  • Computer Science & Engineering
  • Electrical Engineering
  • Electronics & Communication Engineering
  • Information Technology
  • Metallurgical and Materials Engineering
  • Mechanical Engineering
The Institute provides programmes in MTech, MSc, MBA, MCA and PhD degrees in different areas of specialisation.

Post Graduate Programmes M.Tech.
  • Chemical Engineering
  • Civil Engineering (Structural Engineering)
  • Electrical Engineering (Industrial Electrical Systems)
  • Mechanical Engineering (Design & Production Engineering)
  • Metallurgical and Materials Engineering (Industrial Metallurgy)
  • Metallurgical and Materials Engineering (Physical Metallurgy)
  • Biotechnology
  • Chemistry (Corrosion Science & Technology)
  • Mathematics (Operations Research in Industry)
  • Physics (Advanced Materials Science & Technology)
  • Computer Science & Engineering (Information Technology)
  • Electronics & Communication Engg. (Telecommunication Engineering)
  • Electronics & Communication Engg. (VLSI Technology)
  • Information Technology (Information Security)
  • Geology (Environmental Science & Technology)
  • Department of Management Studies (Master of Business Administration)
  • Department of Computer Application (Master of Computer Application)
  • Department of Chemistry (Master of Science in Chemistry)
  • Department of Physics (Master of Science in Physics)
Academic Departments at National Institute of Technology, Durgapur
  • Electrical Engineering
  • Electronics & Communication Engineering
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Computer Science & Engineering
  • Metallurgical & Materials Engineering
  • Civil Engineering
  • Chemical Engineering
  • Information Technology
  • Geology
  • Mathematics
  • Biotechnology
  • Humanities
  • Chemistry
  • Physics
  • Management Studies
  • Computer Application facilities
The facilities available at the National Institute of Technology, Durgapur are Central Library, Computing, Internet & Intranet, Central Instruments Facilities, High Voltage Laboratory, Health Care, Recreation facilities etc.

Universities in India
Pandit Dwarka Prasad Mishra IIITDM Kanchipuram Pandit Dwarka Prasad Mishra IIITDM Jabalpur
Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore Visvesvaraya National Institute of Technology
Sardar Vallabhbhai National Institute of Technology Rajiv Gandhi Indian Institute of Management
National Institute of Technology, Tiruchirapalli National Institute of Technology, Silchar
National Institute of Technology, Rourkela National Institute of Technology, Kurukshetra
National Institute of Technology, Hamirpur National Institute of Technology, Calicut
National Institute of Technology Warangal National Institute of Technology Karnataka
National Institute of Technology Jamshedpur National Institute of Technology, Srinagar
National Institute of Technology, Durgapur Motilal Nehru National Institute of Technology
Maulana Azad National Institute of Technology Bhopal Malaviya National Institute of Technology, Jaipur
Indian Institute of Technology, Ropar Indian Institute of Technology, Roorkee
Indian Institute of Technology, Rajasthan Indian Institute of Technology, Madras
Indian Institute of Technology, Hyderabad Indian Institute of Technology, Guwahati
Indian Institute of Management Kozhikode Indian Institute of Management Bangalore
Indian Institute of Management Calcutta  
Aligarh Muslim University All India Council of Technical Education (AICTE)
Assam University Babasaheb Bhimrao Ambedkar University
Banaras Hindu University Central University of Bihar
Central University of Gujarat Central University of Haryana
Central University of Jammu & Kashmir Central University of Jharkhand
Central University of Karnataka Central University of Kerala
Central University of Orissa Central University of Punjab
Central University of Rajasthan Central University of Tamil Nadu
Council of Architecture Doctor Harisingh Gaur Vishwa Vidyalaya
Guru Ghasidas Vishwavidyalaya Hemwati Nandan Bahuguna Garhwal University
Indian Council of Historical Research Indian Council of Philosophical Research
Indian Council of Social Science Research Indian Institute of Advanced Studies (IIAS)
Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Hauz Khas Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Kharagpur
Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur
Indira Gandhi National Open University (IGNOU) Indira Gandhi National Tribal University
Jamia Millia Islamia Jawaharlal Nehru University
Manipur University Mizoram University
Nagaland University National Commission for Minority Educational Institutions
National Council of Rural Institutes North Eastern Hill University
Pondicherry University Sikkim University
Tejpur University Tripura University
University Grants Commission University of Delhi
University of Hyderabad Visva Bharati Shantiniketan

Last Updated on : March 30, 2016

Uttar Pradesh Gets The Opportunity To Host Khelo India National University Games In 2023-24 Uttar Pradesh Gets The Opportunity To Host Khelo India National University Games In 2023-24Khelo India Youth Games (KIYG), formerly Khelo India School Games (KISG), are yearly multidisciplinary grassroots games held at the national level in India for two categories: under-17-year-old school students and… Read More...
What Is Anxiety Disorder And Its Types? What Is Anxiety Disorder And Its Types?What does anxiety disorder mean? Everyone experiences anxiety occasionally in life. It is a normal reaction to life’s stressful events or challenges. Be it before giving a speech or standing… Read More...
What Is The Medical Termination of Pregnancy Amendment Act, 2021? What Is The Medical Termination of Pregnancy Amendment Act, 2021?The Medical Termination of Pregnancy Act 1971 (the "MTP Act") was enacted due to advancements in medical expertise that made abortions simpler. India revised the MTP Act of 1971 in… Read More...
Know About The National Sports Awards 2022 Know About The National Sports Awards 2022The Ministry of Youth Affairs & Sports recently announced the National Sports Awards 2022. The awards will be presented to the recipients at a specially organised event at Rashtrapati Bhavan… Read More...