National Institute of Technology Karnataka

The National Institute of Technology Karnataka, situated at Surathkal, and previously known as Karnataka Regional Engineering College (KREC), is a leading autonomous university that was set up in July 1960. It was the result of the joint venture between the Government of India and Karnataka. Initially it was affiliated under the University of Mysore.

On June 26, 2002, KREC was known as the National Institute of Technology, Karnataka and also recognized as deemed university by UGC. NITK Surathkal is among those few institutes in the world that has a private beach and a lighthouse. The campus of the institute sprawls over an area 295 acres covered in lush greenery.

Academic Departments at the National Institute of Technology Karnataka
  • Chemistry
  • Physics
  • Humanities
  • Mining Engineering
  • Civil Engineering
  • Chemical Engineering
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Applied Mechanics and Hydraulics
  • Metallurgical Engineering and Materials Science
  • Electronics and Communications Engineering
  • Computer Engineering
  • Electrical and Electronics Engineering
  • Information Technology
  • Mathematics and Computational Sciences
  • Office for Training and Placements
  • Central Library
Admissions to B Tech are done through AIEEE (All India Engineering Entrance Examination) whereas Post Graduate admissions are as per the Graduate Aptitude Test in Engineering (GATE) conducted by the Indian Institute of Technologies and the Indian Institute of Science.

Academic Programmes at National Institute of Technology Karnataka

The Institute offers undergraduate courses in 9 disciplines and post-graduate courses in 27 disciplines. The Institute also offers research leading to Ph.D. degrees in various branches of Engineering, Science and Humanities & Social Sciences.

Undergraduate Programmes
  • Chemistry
  • Humanities (HSM)
  • Physics
  • Mining Engineering
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Applied Mechanics
  • Metallurgical Engineering
  • E&C
  • Computer Engineering
  • EEE
  • MACS
  • Information Technology
  • Chemical Engineering
  • Civil Engineering
Post graduate Programmes
  • M.Tech
  • MCA
  • MSc. – Chemistry
  • MSc. - Physcis
  • MBA
The institute is an excellent centre for research. It offers Ph.D. degrees in educational branches like Science, Humanities, Engineering, and Social Sciences. The departments, which offer Ph.D. Programmes, at National Institute of Technology Karnataka are as follows:-

  • Civil Engineering - Structures, Geotechniques, Transportation, Environment, Earth Sciences, Applied Mechanics & Hydraulics

  • Mechanical Enginnering - Energy System, Advanced Manufacturing, Mechatronics

  • Electrical Engineering

  • Electronics Engineering - Micro Electronics, DSP/Communication

  • Chemical Engineering - Process Development, Particulate System, Biotechnology

  • Metallurgical & Materials Engineering - Mechanical Process, Chemical Process & Materials

  • Computer - Software Engineering, Communication Network, Distributed Computing

  • Mining - Rock Mechanics, Ground Control, Rock Fragmentation

  • Physics - Solid State Physics

  • Chemistry - Physical, Inorganic, Organic Chemistry

  • Humanities - Management Science, Information Technology, Database, Operating System

  • Mathematics & Computational Sciences - Graph Theory, Fluid Mechanics, Computer Application, Operations Research.

Candidates pursuing PhD programme can be classified into
  • Full-time Research Scholars paid by Government/ Semi-Government organizations/QIP/EFIP
  • Full-time Institute Research Scholars
  • Full-time sponsored candidates
  • Part-time Project Staff
  • Part-time Institute Faculty/ Staff
  • Part-time External Candidates
  • Full-time Study leave candidates
  • Full-time Self financing Candidates
The National Institute of Technology Karnataka is among the best and top engineering college and a technological institute in India. Its placement records are also very popular.

Last Updated on : March 30, 2016