All India Council of Technical Education (AICTE)

The All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE) is a Council for technical education at national-level. It is a statutory body of the Department of Higher Education under Ministry of Human Resource Development. Set up in November, 1945 AICTE is bestowed with the responsibilities of proper planning and development of technical education in India. This advisory body was given the status of a statutory body in 1987 by an "Act of Parliament"

There are ten "Statutory Boards of Studies" which assist the All India Council for Technical Education in its functioning. These are-
  • UG Studies in English & Tech
  • PG and Research in English and Tech
  • Vocational Education
  • Technical Education
  • Management Studies
  • Pharmaceutical Education
  • Hotel Management and Catering Technology
  • Architecture
  • Information Technology
  • Town and Country Planning
The Headquarters of All India Council for Technical Education is located in Indira Gandhi Sports Complex, Indraprastha Estate, New Delhi, which houses the office of the Chairman, Vice-Chairman and the Member Secretary. The regional offices of AICTE are located at Chennai, Kolkata, Kanpur, Chandigarh, Mumbai, Guwahati, Bhopal, Hyderabad and Bangalore, and Gurgaon.

Objectives for All India Council for Technical Education

AICTE plans, formulates and maintains the standards and norms, provides quality reassurance through accreditation of schools, provide with funds in important areas, maintain parity in certification and other awards, evaluation and monitoring, and ensuring management and development of the technical education in India.

AICTE Bureaus

There are 9 AICTE Bureaus.
  • Faculty Development (FD) Bureau
  • Undergraduate Education (UG) Bureau
  • Postgraduate Education and Research (PGER) Bureau
  • Planning and Co-ordination (PC) Bureau
  • Research and Institutional Development (RID) Bureau
  • Quality Assurance (QA) Bureau
  • Finance (Fin) Bureau
  • Academic (Acad) Bureau
  • Administration (Admin) Bureau
Colleges with All India Council for Technical Education Affiliation

There are more than 8 lakh students in over 2400 engineering colleges with All India Council for Technical Education affiliation. While the number of management institutes are 1231 with an intake of more than 1.5 lakh students. Besides the MBA and Engineering colleges there are also more than 1001 Pharmacy, 1137 MCA, 86 HMCT, 285 PGDM, 11 applied arts and crafts colleges approved by All India Council for Technical Education.

Courses offered by AICTE

The courses offered by AICTE are
  • Undergraduate Courses
  • Engineering and Technology, Pharmacy, Architecture, Applied Arts and Crafts, Hotel management and Catering Technology
  • Post Graduate Courses
  • Diploma Courses
All India Council for Technical Education also offers distance education through varied distance education courses.

Last Updated on : February 10, 2016

Top Women's Colleges of Delhi University Top Women's Colleges of Delhi University   In this day and age, girls are no less than boys in any field. Now,… Read More...
Top 10 Colleges of Delhi University Top 10 Colleges of Delhi University Having been through with the board exams and now with the results, here comes the… Read More...
The International Border Lines of India The International Border Lines of India A border line is a dividing line that marks the territorial limits between… Read More...
Handwritten Notes vs Digital Notes Handwritten Notes vs Digital NotesIn today's era, each one of us has become technology friendly. Our day begins with messages and night ends with e-mails, messages and calls. Life without digitally compatible devices will… Read More...

Which States Share Boundary with China?India, in total, shares land borders with 6 sovereign countries. China is one of those. Below are the Indian states which share borders with the country. 1. Jammu and Kashmir This northern state of India is mostly located in the Himalayan mountains. It shares a… Read More...
Which States Share Boundaries with Pakistan? There are four states that share a border with Pakistan, namely, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, and Gujarat. The India Pakistan Border is quite intriguing. Since India has installed 1,50,000 flood lights on… Read More...
Which Places in India Still Largely Speak Sanskrit?Sanskrit is considered as Dev Bhasha, the language of Gods. It has a history of around 3500 years. It used to be a primary language of ancient India. Its earliest form Vedic Sanskrit, was prevalent from 1500 500 BCE. However, it is fading… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow for border and boundary demarcations