Guru Ghasidas Vishwavidyalaya

Guru Ghasidas Vishwavidyalaya was inaugurated on 16th June, 1983. It was then known as Guru Ghasidas University. It is a Central University named after Guru Ghasidas, who was the founder of Satnami Movement. It is situated at Bilaspur and is among the 2 universities located in the state of Chattisgarh. GGU extends its jurisdiction upon ‘Bilaspur Revenue Division’. The present Chancellor of the university is Mr. K.K. Chandrakar and the Vice- Chancellor is Prof. Lakshman Cahturved

Guru Ghasidas University offers the students diverse courses in undergraduate and postgraduate level as well as professional and research-oriented programmes. The faculties of Guru Ghasidas Vishwavidyalaya are listed below.
  • Department of English
  • Department of Education
  • Department of Hindi
  • Department of Journalism & Mass Communication
  • Department of Library & Information Science
  • Department of Pure & Applied Physics
  • Department of Computer Science & Information Technology
  • Department of Pure & Applied Maths
  • Department of Botany
  • Department of Rural Technology
  • Department of Zoology
  • Department of Chemistry
  • Department of Management Studies
  • Department of Commerce
  • Department of Physical Education
  • Department of Anthropology
  • Department of Economics
  • Department of Adult & Continuing Education
  • Department of Political Science
  • Department of History
  • Department of Social Work
  • Department of Forestry Wild Life Environmental Science & Eco Development
  • Department of Bio-Technology
  • Department of Pharmacy
  • Faculty of Engineering
The facilities and services offered by Guru Ghasidas Vishwavidyalaya to its students, faculty members and the other staffs are
  • Computer Centre- The centre is equipped with modern machines and high quality of software. The centre helps tremendously in teaching, research, examination, finance, examination etc.
  • Central Library- It has more than 85,000 books, 1650 journals, 5000 research works, and other important documentaries.
  • Women’ Studies & Development Centre- The centre aims at promoting the message of gender equality and other major issues.
  • National Service Scheme- The University has 3 units of NSS with more than 300 students.
  • Hostel- There are 2 hostels, one for girls and the other for boys.
  • Post office and Bank
  • Health Centre and Cultural Club,
  • Proctorial Board- The University has set up a “Proctorial Board” for maintenance of discipline within the campus
  • Staff Quarters and Guest House
  • SC/ST Cell, Cafeteria, Auditorium, Sports, PCO and Photocopier, Bus Service.
Guru Ghasidas Vishwavidyalaya has been a member of the “Association of Commonwealth Universities” and “Association of Indian Universities”. NAAC i.e. National Assessment & Accreditation Council has credited Guru Ghasidas Vishwavidyalaya as a B+ university.

Last Updated on : March 28, 2016

World Consumer Rights Day 2020: Theme to Protect Consumers' Rights World Consumer Rights Day 2020: Theme to Protect Consumers' Rights World Consumer Rights Day (WCRD) is an awareness day, which is observed across the globe annually on March 15. WCRD was the… Read More...
Pi Day on March 14: What this Day Means for Mathematicians and Fans of Maths Pi Day on March 14: What this Day Means for Mathematicians and Fans of Maths The number π is related to mathematics; it explains the ratio of a circle's circumference to its diameter. Pi appears… Read More...
Careers Related to Science with Travel Opportunities Careers Related to Science with Travel Opportunities People say that life is a journey. In this journey we work hard for ourselves, our families… Read More...
Essay on Holi for School Children and Students Essay on Holi for School Children and Students Holi is just around the corner and each one of us is eagerly waiting for its arrival. This festival… Read More...

Which States Share Boundary with China?India, in total, shares land borders with 6 sovereign countries. China is one of those. Below are the Indian states which share borders with the country. 1. Jammu and Kashmir This northern state of India is mostly located in the Himalayan mountains. It shares a… Read More...
Which States Share Boundaries with Pakistan? There are four states that share a border with Pakistan, namely, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, and Gujarat. The India Pakistan Border is quite intriguing. Since India has installed 1,50,000 flood lights on… Read More...
Which Places in India Still Largely Speak Sanskrit?Sanskrit is considered as Dev Bhasha, the language of Gods. It has a history of around 3500 years. It used to be a primary language of ancient India. Its earliest form Vedic Sanskrit, was prevalent from 1500 500 BCE. However, it is fading… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow for border and boundary demarcations