Hemwati Nandan Bahuguna Garhwal University

The Hemwati Nandan Bahuguna Garhwal University came into existence on December 1st, 1973 by the Uttar Pardesh State Universities Act. The university was established for the fulfillment of the dreams of higher education among the people of Srinagar. The 1st Vice-Chancellor of the University was a renowned educationist, Shri Bhishwambar Dutt Bhatt. The University campus is nestled in a beautiful location with three campuses namely, the Srinagar Campus, the Pauri Campus and the Tehri Campus.

Late Shri Hemwati Nandan Bahuguna played a major role in the formation of the Garhwal University. Later in 1988 the University was renamed as Hemwati Nandan Bahuguna Garhwal University as a tribute to Shri Hemwati Nandan Bahuguna. In last 35 years, the University has emerged as one of the quality centres of higher education and research. It is in a major way responsible for the cultural and economic development of the people of Srinagar. It was given the status of a Central University on January 15th, 2009. The present Vice-Chancellor of the University is Prof. S.P. Sing while the President of India, Smt. Pratibha Patil is the Visitor.

Presently Hemwati Nandan Bahuguna Garhwal University is among the 10 largest universities in India and comprises 3 campuses, above 180 affiliated colleges, 150000 students. The university offers higher education to 7 districts in Uttarakhand.

The diverse faculties of Hemwati Nandan Bahuguna Garhwal University are-
  • Faculty of Arts
  • Faculty of Ayurveda
  • Faculty of Agriculture
  • Faculty of DSW
  • Faculty of Commerce
  • Faculty of Engineering
  • Faculty of Education
  • Faculty of Management
  • Faculty of Law
  • Faculty of Science
  • Faculty of Adult Continuing Education & Extension
  • Faculty of Medical Science/Dental Science
Some of the Colleges with Hemwati Nandan Bahuguna Garhwal University affiliation are-
  • Birla Postgraduate College
  • Central Pulp and Paper Research Institute
  • B H E L P C R I
  • Dr B G Reddy Postgaduate College
  • Govind Ballabh Pant Engineering College
  • Govt Degree College, Lansdown
  • Govt Degree College, Dakpathar
  • Govt Postgraduate College, Kotdwar
  • Indian Institute of Management & Technology
  • Institute of Management Studies, Dehradun
  • ONGC Research Centre, Dehradun
  • Survey of India Research Centre, Dehradun
Courses under Hemwati Nandan Bahuguna Garhwal University

Academic Courses: Besides a range of usual Science and Arts programmes, specialized courses are also offered like Tourism, History and Archeology, Military Science, Management, Pharmacy etc.

Degrees: Bachelor’s degree, Master’s degree, PG Diploma, M.Phil, PhD

Vocational and Professional Courses: Sales, Advertising, Management, Seed Technology, Rural Technology, Museology.

Last Updated on : March 30, 2016