Manipur University

Established in the year 1980, by the “Manipur University Act, 1980”, the Manipur University is an affiliating university located in Canchipur, Imphal. It was recognized as a Central University on 13th October, 2005. The campus of the University sprawls over 287 acres of land. It extends its jurisdiction over Manipur.

The Chancellor of Prof. P.N. Srivastava and the Vice-Chancellor is Prof. Chabungbam Amuba Singh. University of Manipur has seventy two affiliated colleges under it and a constituent college called “Manipur Institute of Technology” or MIT. The different schools of the Manipur University are as below.

  • School of Life Sciences
  • School of Mathematical & Physical Sciences
  • School of Human & Environmental Science
  • School of Humanities
  • School of Social Sciences
  • School of Medical Sciences
Every school has different departments under it. Some of the well known departments through which the university is imparting education are
  • Bio-Chemistry
  • Life Science
  • Bio-Technology
  • Anthropology
  • Earth Science
  • Geography
  • Physical Education & Sports Science
  • Chemistry
  • Computer Science
  • Mathematics
  • Physics
  • Statistics
  • English
  • Hindi
  • Linguistics
  • Manipuri
  • Dance
  • Philosophy
  • Adult education
  • Economics
  • Commerce
  • Education
  • Library & Info. Science
  • History
  • MIMS
  • Mass Communication
  • Political Science
  • RIMS
  • Following are the centres of the Manipur University.
    • Computer Centre- It was set up in 1985. The centre is well equipped with P-III IBM Server, internal LAN, HP LaserJet Printer, P-IV IBM Netvista PCs, 24 pin DMP of 500cps, Scanner and Digital Projector.

    • University Museum

    • Educational Multimedia Research Centre (EMMRC) - It was set up in 1989. The centre intends at upgrading and enriching the syllabus at the undergraduate level. It is among the seventeen media centres in India and the sole centre in North East India.

    • Centre for Manipur Studies- The objective of this centre is to facilitate research programs and teaching in the disciplines of Culture, Language and History.

    • Centre for Gandhian Studies

    • Centre for Myanmar Studies- This autonomous centre offer courses on Mayanmerese Language and also encourages undertaking various research programs.

    • On 1st October, 1985, the College Development Council of MU was established, as envisaged in UGC. The Council was entrusted with the responsibility to ensure appropriate planning and development of the colleges with Manipur University Affiliation.

    Facilities & Services

    The wide range of facilities and services that the students of the Manipur University benefits from are Library, Guest house, Hostel, Welfare Corner, Health Center, ‘Employment Information and Guidance Bureau’, Banking service, postal facility, Phonetics Laboratory, Transport facilities, vocational courses, canteen etc.

    Last Updated on : March 25, 2016

    World Consumer Rights Day 2020: Theme to Protect Consumers' Rights World Consumer Rights Day 2020: Theme to Protect Consumers' Rights World Consumer Rights Day (WCRD) is an awareness day, which is observed across the globe annually on March 15. WCRD was the… Read More...
    Pi Day on March 14: What this Day Means for Mathematicians and Fans of Maths Pi Day on March 14: What this Day Means for Mathematicians and Fans of Maths The number π is related to mathematics; it explains the ratio of a circle's circumference to its diameter. Pi appears… Read More...
    Careers Related to Science with Travel Opportunities Careers Related to Science with Travel Opportunities People say that life is a journey. In this journey we work hard for ourselves, our families… Read More...
    Essay on Holi for School Children and Students Essay on Holi for School Children and Students Holi is just around the corner and each one of us is eagerly waiting for its arrival. This festival… Read More...

    Which States Share Boundary with China?India, in total, shares land borders with 6 sovereign countries. China is one of those. Below are the Indian states which share borders with the country. 1. Jammu and Kashmir This northern state of India is mostly located in the Himalayan mountains. It shares a… Read More...
    Which States Share Boundaries with Pakistan? There are four states that share a border with Pakistan, namely, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, and Gujarat. The India Pakistan Border is quite intriguing. Since India has installed 1,50,000 flood lights on… Read More...
    Which Places in India Still Largely Speak Sanskrit?Sanskrit is considered as Dev Bhasha, the language of Gods. It has a history of around 3500 years. It used to be a primary language of ancient India. Its earliest form Vedic Sanskrit, was prevalent from 1500 500 BCE. However, it is fading… Read More...

    EU GDPR Update:
    MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
    We follow for border and boundary demarcations