Nagaland University

Established in the year 1989 by the “Nagaland University Act”, the Nagaland University is a Central University comprising of 3 campuses at Kohima, Madziphema and Lumami Headquarters, Presently the university functions from the Kohima Campus which is its Interim Headquarters. Each of the campus is managed and maintained by its own academic and administrative divisions The University of Nagaland is situated in Nagaland and is the only Central University of the state.

Objectives of Nagaland University
  • It disseminates and advances knowledge through research and instruction in the various fields of learning
  • To facilitate the study of integrated courses in different disciplines
  • Make innovations in the teaching and learning process
  • Promote research and interdisciplinary studies
  • To educate the man power of Nagaland for the growth of the state
  • Take up measures for the social, intellectual, academic economic and cultural development of the state and also take care of the welfare of the people.
The University of Nagaland has twenty-five departments in its different campuses. The Lumami Headquarters has the following seven departments of study.
  • Botany
  • Chemistry
  • Geography
  • Economics
  • Sociology
  • Political Science
  • Zoology
The Campus at Kohima has six departments which are as follows
  • Education
  • English
  • History
  • Commerce
  • Geology
  • Archaelogy
The Medziphema Campus has the following twelve departments of study.
  • Agricultural Economics & Statistics
  • Agricultural Chemistry & Soil Sciences
  • Agricultural Extension
  • Agricultural Engineering
  • Animal production & Management
  • Agronomy
  • Entomology
  • Horticulture
  • Genetics & Plant Breeding
  • Plant Pathology
  • Rural Development & Planning
  • Soil Conservation
The University also 4 centres which are
  • Tribal Studies
  • Bio-diversity
  • Mass Communication (IIMC-NU)
  • Gandhian Peace Studies
This affiliating university of Nagaland has more than 20,000 students and 48 colleges with Nagaland University affiliation. It has also been recognized as one of the affiliating universities for the “Minority Educational Institution” in India. The present Chancellor of the university is Prof. Yoginder K. Alagh and the Vice-Chancellor is Prof. K. Kannan.

The students and the faculty of the Nagaland University have been participating in many conferences of national and international fame. The university has also undertaken various socially research oriented programs. Currently 50 projects on different issues have been undertaken by it. It has also organized workshops, training and seminars in association with NAAC, UGC, NGOs etc.

Last Updated on : March 25, 2016

World Consumer Rights Day 2020: Theme to Protect Consumers' Rights World Consumer Rights Day 2020: Theme to Protect Consumers' Rights World Consumer Rights Day (WCRD) is an awareness day, which is observed across the globe annually on March 15. WCRD was the… Read More...
Pi Day on March 14: What this Day Means for Mathematicians and Fans of Maths Pi Day on March 14: What this Day Means for Mathematicians and Fans of Maths The number π is related to mathematics; it explains the ratio of a circle's circumference to its diameter. Pi appears… Read More...
Careers Related to Science with Travel Opportunities Careers Related to Science with Travel Opportunities People say that life is a journey. In this journey we work hard for ourselves, our families… Read More...
Essay on Holi for School Children and Students Essay on Holi for School Children and Students Holi is just around the corner and each one of us is eagerly waiting for its arrival. This festival… Read More...

Which States Share Boundary with China?India, in total, shares land borders with 6 sovereign countries. China is one of those. Below are the Indian states which share borders with the country. 1. Jammu and Kashmir This northern state of India is mostly located in the Himalayan mountains. It shares a… Read More...
Which States Share Boundaries with Pakistan? There are four states that share a border with Pakistan, namely, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, and Gujarat. The India Pakistan Border is quite intriguing. Since India has installed 1,50,000 flood lights on… Read More...
Which Places in India Still Largely Speak Sanskrit?Sanskrit is considered as Dev Bhasha, the language of Gods. It has a history of around 3500 years. It used to be a primary language of ancient India. Its earliest form Vedic Sanskrit, was prevalent from 1500 500 BCE. However, it is fading… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow for border and boundary demarcations