Sikkim University

Sikkim University was established on July 2nd, 2007 by an ‘Act of Parliament’. Prior to the establishment of this university, Sikkim did not have any Government University like the other states. However, with the setting up of the University of Sikkim, a long cherished dream of the state was fulfilled. It is a Central University, which is funded by Indian Government.

The university aims at contributing to the process of nation building through the mobilization of the intellectual heritage of the place. This includes stimulating the academic enthusiasm and the creativity among the youths, setting up and developing various institutions etc. Updated academic courses, teaching procedure, curriculum has been taken up by the university from time to time. The university wishes to establish itself as the education hub and a centre for higher education in the South East Asia and Eastern South Asia. The Chancellor of the university is Prof. M S Swminathan and the President of India, Pratibha Patil is the Visitor.

Some of the Colleges with the Sikkim University affiliation are as below.
  • Sikkim Government College
  • Rhenok Government College
  • Namchi Government College
  • Palantine College
  • Sikkim Government Law College
  • Damber Singh College
  • Harkamaya College of Education
  • Loyala College of Education
  • Himalayan Pharmacy Institute
The academic programmes under the Sikkim University can be divided into 3 types namely Traditionl Programmes- These consist of the mainstream programmes taught in all the Indian Universities. These courses are taught under the following schools of the University of Sikkim.
  • School of Social Sciences
  • School of Law and Governance
  • School of Global Studies
  • School of Linguistics and Languages
  • School of Media, Communication and Information Science
  • School of Management
  • School of Computer Sciences
  • School of Biotechnology
  • School of Environmental Studies
  • School of Life Sciences
  • School of Planning, Architecture and Engineering
  • School of Physical and Chemical Sciences
  • School of Medicine
Non-Traditional Programmes- These consist of the courses, which are non- traditional, and do not come under the general disciplines of study. These are mainly skill oriented and professional or specialized courses and are taught in the following schools of the university.

  • School of Indigenous and Folk Studies
  • School of Peace, Conflict and Human Security Studies
  • School of Sustainable Development and Livelihood Management
Policy Studies Programmes- These will include programmes on policy research, which will ultimately cater to National Interest, public affairs, disaster management, natural resources etc.

Sikkim University has been successful in carving a name out for itself in the field of education. It draws students from not only Sikkim but also the bordering states. The university is constantly progressing, thereby aiming at becoming one of the leading institutions soon.

Last Updated on : March 25, 2016

World Consumer Rights Day 2020: Theme to Protect Consumers' Rights World Consumer Rights Day 2020: Theme to Protect Consumers' Rights World Consumer Rights Day (WCRD) is an awareness day, which is observed across the globe annually on March 15. WCRD was the… Read More...
Pi Day on March 14: What this Day Means for Mathematicians and Fans of Maths Pi Day on March 14: What this Day Means for Mathematicians and Fans of Maths The number π is related to mathematics; it explains the ratio of a circle's circumference to its diameter. Pi appears… Read More...
Careers Related to Science with Travel Opportunities Careers Related to Science with Travel Opportunities People say that life is a journey. In this journey we work hard for ourselves, our families… Read More...
Essay on Holi for School Children and Students Essay on Holi for School Children and Students Holi is just around the corner and each one of us is eagerly waiting for its arrival. This festival… Read More...

Which States Share Boundary with China?India, in total, shares land borders with 6 sovereign countries. China is one of those. Below are the Indian states which share borders with the country. 1. Jammu and Kashmir This northern state of India is mostly located in the Himalayan mountains. It shares a… Read More...
Which States Share Boundaries with Pakistan? There are four states that share a border with Pakistan, namely, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, and Gujarat. The India Pakistan Border is quite intriguing. Since India has installed 1,50,000 flood lights on… Read More...
Which Places in India Still Largely Speak Sanskrit?Sanskrit is considered as Dev Bhasha, the language of Gods. It has a history of around 3500 years. It used to be a primary language of ancient India. Its earliest form Vedic Sanskrit, was prevalent from 1500 500 BCE. However, it is fading… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow for border and boundary demarcations