University of Delhi

University of Delhi, one of the famous central universities in India was established in 1922 through an act of the “Central Legislative Assembly”. This premier university of India had only 3 colleges, 750 students and 2 faculties under it when it commenced. Later on in 1933, the University of Delhi moved to the Viceregal Lodge Estate which is currently the main campus and the nucleus of Delhi University. Presently, with 14 faculties, 79 colleges and 86 departments and 2,20,000 students, the university emerges as one of the most sought after universities in India, famous for its high standard of teaching, eminent faculties, and brilliant students. Mohammad Hamid Ansari is the present chancellor and Deepak Pental is the vice chancellor of the university.

In order to cope with the huge expansion, DU decided to go for multi-campuses, following which the south campus started in 1973. The West and East campuses are also about to commence. In the 60s when centres of advanced studies were being set up by the UGC, the University of Delhi was awarded 6 centres. These were Chemistry, Botany, Zoology, Economics, Sociology and Physics. The university also houses 15 libraries apart from the college libraries. It also has a “science instrumentation centre” which is used for varied research purposes. Delhi University has just finished its network of fibre-optics in the South and Northern campus.

Faculties of University of Delhi

The university offers diverse courses in the following departments.
  • Applied Social Sciences & Humanities
  • Arts
  • Commerce & Business Studies
  • Education
  • Ayurvedic & Unani Medicine
  • INT. DISP. & Applied Sciences
  • Law
  • Mathematical Sciences
  • Management Studies
  • Music & Fine Arts
  • Social Sciences
  • Science
  • Medical Sciences
  • Technology
Centres of University of Delhi
  • Centre for Environmnet Management of Degraded Ecosystem
  • Agricultural Economics Research Centre
  • Centre for Interdisciplinary Studies of Mountain & Hill Environment
  • Centre for Science Education & Communication
  • Centre for Proffessional Development in Higher Education
  • Dr. B.R. Ambedkar Centre for Biomedical Research
  • Developing Countries Research Centre
  • Women Study Development Centre
Some of the famous colleges with Delhi University affiliation are Maulana Azad Medical College, Miranda House, Netaji Subhas Institute of Technology, Hans Raj College, Hindu College, Lady Shri Ram College for Women, University College of Medical Science, St. Stephens College, Delhi, Ramjas College to list some of them.

The facilities offered by this renowned university are libraries with electronic database, canteen, hostels bank, internet access centre, post office, transport, computer centre, seminar centre, health centre, counseling facilities, bio-information centre and student activities.

Last Updated on : March 25, 2016

Careers Related to Science with Travel Opportunities Careers Related to Science with Travel Opportunities People say that life is a journey. In this journey we work hard for ourselves, our families… Read More...
World Consumer Rights Day 2020: Theme to Protect Consumers' Rights World Consumer Rights Day 2020: Theme to Protect Consumers' Rights World Consumer Rights Day (WCRD) is an awareness day, which is observed across the globe annually on March 15. WCRD was the… Read More...
Pi Day on March 14: What this Day Means for Mathematicians and Fans of Maths Pi Day on March 14: What this Day Means for Mathematicians and Fans of Maths The number π is related to mathematics; it explains the ratio of a circle's circumference to its diameter. Pi appears… Read More...
Essay on Holi for School Children and Students Essay on Holi for School Children and Students Holi is just around the corner and each one of us is eagerly waiting for its arrival. This festival… Read More...

Which States Share Boundary with China?India, in total, shares land borders with 6 sovereign countries. China is one of those. Below are the Indian states which share borders with the country. 1. Jammu and Kashmir This northern state of India is mostly located in the Himalayan mountains. It shares a… Read More...
Which States Share Boundaries with Pakistan? There are four states that share a border with Pakistan, namely, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, and Gujarat. The India Pakistan Border is quite intriguing. Since India has installed 1,50,000 flood lights on… Read More...
Which Places in India Still Largely Speak Sanskrit?Sanskrit is considered as Dev Bhasha, the language of Gods. It has a history of around 3500 years. It used to be a primary language of ancient India. Its earliest form Vedic Sanskrit, was prevalent from 1500 500 BCE. However, it is fading… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow for border and boundary demarcations