Golden Throne of Mysore

The Golden Throne of Mysore or the Ratna Simahasana, as it is known in Kannad, is the Historical Royal Seat of the rulers of the Mysore Kingdom. The Golden Throne of Mysore has an intriguing history. It is believed that the Royal Golden Throne of Mysore originally belonged to the Pandava brothers of the epic tale Mahabharata.
Kampilaraya brought the throne from Hastinapur, the seat of the Pandavas, to Penugonda which is now in Andhra Pradesh. The throne was next retrieved by Harihara I, one of the founders of the Vijaynagar Empire. The Golden Throne remained in Vijaynagar for half a century after which it was brought to Sirangapatna by the Governor of Vijayanagar rulers. Then the Governor passed it on to the Raja Wodeyar and ever since then the Golden Throne remained in the region.

The Golden Throne of Mysore can be divided into three different parts, steps that lead to the seat of the throne, the seat, and a golden umbrella over the seat of the Throne. Carved out of fig wood, the Golden Throne of Mysore is ornamented with ivory plaques. Besides, the Golden Throne of Mysore is adorned with Gold, Silver and a number of precious gems. The umbrella of the Golden Throne of Mysore has Slokas engraved on the rim.

The Golden Throne of Mysore is one of the most priced possessions of the Mysore Kingdom and was mostly used during ceremonies like Coronation of the King or the Dusara Durbar. Today, the Golden Throne of Mysore is on display for the tourists only during the Mysore Dasara festival and for the rest of the year it is placed under high security.

Last Updated on 9/14/2011

  Mysore India  



Which state is the largest producer of uranium in India? The state of Andhra Pradesh is the largest producer of uranium in India. Tummalapalle village located in the Kadapa district of Andhra Pradesh is considered as one of… Read More...
Which Indian state produces the maximum wind power? The production of power from wind energy has considerably increased in the recent years. Very recently in June this year, India became the fourth largest country with 34.293 gigawatt of… Read More...
Which Indian state is the largest producer of diamonds? Madhya Pradesh is the only state with a diamond mine in the country as well as in Asia. During the year 2017-18, Madhya Pradesh has produced 28,424 carats of diamonds (up to December… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow for border and boundary demarcations