George Fernandes

George Fernandes was born on June 3, 1930 in Mangalore in the Indian state of Karnataka. He was elected as a member of the 14th Lok Sabha of India. George Fernandes is also a member of the highly influential, Janata Dal (United) Party. The name of the constituency that he represents is Muzaffarpur. He has gained immense fame and glory as a defender of Indian liberties and the protector of workers’ rights as well.

Significant achievements of George Fernandes include:-

  • He was a trade union activist.
  • He was also the defense minister in the National Democratic Alliance Government that had existed between 1998 and 2004.
Post completion of his education in Mangalore, George Fernandes of Mangalore was sent to a seminary near Bangalore at the behest of his father. But, young George did not like to be trained in priesthood and rebelled against the authorities.

After coming to Mumbai, George Fernandes from Mangalore had to bear with numerous hardships. But the turning point of his career came when he decided to stand in the 1967 election. It was the Samyukta Socialist party that had offered a party ticket to him to stand against Sadashiv Kanoji Patil. Although the odds were stacked against him, George Fernandes convincingly defeated the elite politician.

After the emergency of 1975, Smt. Indira Gandhi’s Congress Party suffered a heavy defeat at the hands of the Janata party coalition under the leadership of Shri Moraji Desai. George Fernandes was elected as the Union Minister for Industries. Later, he was made the Railways Minister in VP Singh’s Government. Then in 1994, he broke away from the Janata Dal and created the Samata Party. He was also the Defence Minister when The Kargil War broke between India and Pakistan.

Last Updated on 21 September 2011



Which state is the largest producer of uranium in India? The state of Andhra Pradesh is the largest producer of uranium in India. Tummalapalle village located in the Kadapa district of Andhra Pradesh is considered as one of… Read More...
Which Indian state produces the maximum wind power? The production of power from wind energy has considerably increased in the recent years. Very recently in June this year, India became the fourth largest country with 34.293 gigawatt of… Read More...
Which Indian state is the largest producer of diamonds? Madhya Pradesh is the only state with a diamond mine in the country as well as in Asia. During the year 2017-18, Madhya Pradesh has produced 28,424 carats of diamonds (up to December… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow for border and boundary demarcations