Kori Rotti

Kori Rotti is one of the special recipes of Mangalore. The cuisine comprises of a thin pappad like crackling rotti made of dry rice flakes dipped in gravy of chicken. The rottis can be availed from the markets of Mangalore. One can easily cook the gravy of the Kori Rotti by following the procedure given below.

Gather the following ingredients for Kori Rotti:

  • 10 flakes garlic
  • 1 ½ chopped onion
  • juice of 1 lemon
  • Milk of 1 ½ coconuts
  • 15-20 red chillies
  • ½ coconut (grated)
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 6 peppercorn seeds
  • 2 tablespoon coriander seeds (dhaniya)
  • 1 tablespoon cumin seeds (jeera)
  • 1 chicken (should be around 1 kg in weight)
  • ghee for frying
  • salt as per taste
  • ¼ tablespoon turmeric powder

Method of Cooking Kori Rotti

To cook the gravy of Kori Rotti, first roast the ½ coconut grated till it turns light brown. After this take some ghee in a vessel and boil it. Add the red chillies, coriander, peppercorn and cumin seeds to it. After that add the ½ chopped onions and heat it till it turns light brown. Take them out and grind it with garlic flakes, turmeric powder and a small amount of coconut milk.

Now add 2 to 3 cups of water in the above grinded masala (spices) and mix it with the cleaned and cut chicken and some coconut milk. After that take a cooker and add butter, chopped onion, salt as per taste and the above mixture and boil it for 5 minutes under pressure after which add the remaining milk of coconut, lemon juice to it and simmer it for few minutes.

Now take a flat vessel and add 2 tablespoon ghee to it and set it on fire. Add 1 chopped onion to it and fry till brown. After this, add garam masala and pour the curry over the seasoning. Cover it for a minute and then take it out in a bowl. The Kori Rotti is ready to serve now.

Last Updated on 21 September 2011



Which state is the largest producer of uranium in India? The state of Andhra Pradesh is the largest producer of uranium in India. Tummalapalle village located in the Kadapa district of Andhra Pradesh is considered as one of… Read More...
Which Indian state produces the maximum wind power? The production of power from wind energy has considerably increased in the recent years. Very recently in June this year, India became the fourth largest country with 34.293 gigawatt of… Read More...
Which Indian state is the largest producer of diamonds? Madhya Pradesh is the only state with a diamond mine in the country as well as in Asia. During the year 2017-18, Madhya Pradesh has produced 28,424 carats of diamonds (up to December… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow editorialcalls.org for border and boundary demarcations