Kane Curry or Fry

Kane Curry or Fry is one of the special cuisines of Mangalore. The main attraction of this Kane Curry or Fry of Mangalore is the usage of Lady Fish. This recipe can be cooked in two ways, one as a curry and the other as a fried dish.

To cook the recipe of Kane Curry, one needs to be ready with the following basic ingredients:

  • 2 finely chopped onions
  • 12 lady fish – medium size
  • 2 tablespoons of coconut oil
  • salt as per taste
The first step of preparing Mangalore Kane curry is to grind all the following masala (spices) ingredients into a fine paste:

  • 10-12 roasted red chillies
  • 1 chopped onion
  • a small ball of tamarind
  • 2 tablespoons of roasted coriander seeds (dhaniya)
  • 1 tablespoon of roasted cumin seeds (jeera)
  • ½ grated coconut
  • 6 roasted fenugreek seeds (methi)
  • 5-8 flakes of garlic
  • 1 tablespoon roasted peppercorns
  • a pinch of turmeric powder
Now add some water to the grinded masala paste so as to make it a solution of medium consistency. After this, take a flat vessel and pour the coconut oil in it. After the oil gets hot, add the chopped onion and fry it till its color turns brown. Now add the masala paste along with the salt to the fried onions. After the masala boils, add the lady fish to the curry and heat for few more minutes on low flame until it is cooked. Take out the curry in a round bowl and garnish it with fried onions. The Kane Curry is ready to serve.

Kane Fry

Following ingredients are required to cook the recipe of Kane Fry:

  • lemon juice of ½ lemon (optional)
  • fried onion (optional)
  • Red Chilly paste mixed with vinegar or tamarind juice
  • Kane fish
  • Rawa powder for coating (Samolina)
  • oil for deep fry
  • salt as per taste
First of all, clean the fish and coat it with the mixture of lemon juice, salt and red chilly paste and then marinate it for an hour. After an hour, roll it over the rawa powder and deep fry it till it turns golden brown. Take it out. Garnish it with fried onions, Mangalore Kane fry is ready to serve.

Last Updated on 21 September 2011



Which States Share Boundary with China?India, in total, shares land borders with 6 sovereign countries. China is one of those. Below are the Indian states which share borders with the country. 1. Jammu and Kashmir This northern state of India is mostly located in the Himalayan mountains. It shares a… Read More...
Which States Share Boundaries with Pakistan? There are four states that share a border with Pakistan, namely, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, and Gujarat. The India Pakistan Border is quite intriguing. Since India has installed 1,50,000 flood lights on… Read More...
Which Places in India Still Largely Speak Sanskrit?Sanskrit is considered as Dev Bhasha, the language of Gods. It has a history of around 3500 years. It used to be a primary language of ancient India. Its earliest form Vedic Sanskrit, was prevalent from 1500 500 BCE. However, it is fading… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow editorialcalls.org for border and boundary demarcations