Dussehra and Sri Krishna Janmashtami in Mangalore

Dussehra and Sri Krishna Janmashtami in Mangalore are the most popular festivals of Mangalore. Dussehra and Sri Krishna Janmashtami festivals give a relief to the people of Mangalore from the drudgery of their regular life.

Dussehra and Sri Krishna Janmashtami in Mangalore are among the principle festivals of Mangalore that are celebrated with pomp and show throughout the length and breadth of Mangalore. These festivals of Mangalore call for a lot of enthusiasm and excitement.


Dussehra is one of the major festivals of Mangalore. Dussehra is a festival that marks the victory of good over evil. In fact, Dussehra commemorates the victory of Goddesses Chamundeswari, who is also known Durga, over Mahishasura.

Mahishasura was an evil demon, who considered himself to be invincible. Therefore, guided by his blind faith, he turned treacherous and wanted to become the Lord of the Heaven. As Mahishasura was blessed never to be killed by any man, none of the Gods could kill him. Therefore, the Gods asked Goddess Durga to slay to him with her trident.

Sri Krishna Janmashtami

Sri Krishna Janmashtami is another principle festival in Mangalore. Sri Krishna Janmashtami is a festival that celebrates the birth of Lord Krishna.

Sri Krishna Janmashtami is marked by exuberance and enthusiasm. People in Mangalore, come together to celebrate the pious day. Lord Krishna is said to steal curd and butter from the earthen pots that were hung by beyond his reach. People in Mangalore suspend an earthen pot called 'matka' from a considerable height above the ground. Young men and boys make human pyramids and try to reach and break the suspended pot. In fact, the breaking of earthen pot calls for a lot of excitement.

Thus, it is evident that Dussehra and Sri Krishna Janmashtami at Mangalore are among the chief festivals celebrated within the territory.

Last Updated on 18 October 2012



Which state is the largest producer of uranium in India? The state of Andhra Pradesh is the largest producer of uranium in India. Tummalapalle village located in the Kadapa district of Andhra Pradesh is considered as one of… Read More...
Which Indian state produces the maximum wind power? The production of power from wind energy has considerably increased in the recent years. Very recently in June this year, India became the fourth largest country with 34.293 gigawatt of… Read More...
Which Indian state is the largest producer of diamonds? Madhya Pradesh is the only state with a diamond mine in the country as well as in Asia. During the year 2017-18, Madhya Pradesh has produced 28,424 carats of diamonds (up to December… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow editorialcalls.org for border and boundary demarcations