Mangalore Religions

Mangalore religions constitute major religious communities of Karnataka. They are the Havyakas, the Christians, the Saraswat Brahmins, the Billavas, the Shivalli Brahmins, the Kota Brahmins and the Bunts.

The community of Havyakas is one of the most important religious groups of Mangalore. The people of this group are actually Brahmin by caste. Their forefathers were the 32 Brahmins who went to visit Mayursharma's kingdom. The Bunts constitute another important religious group of Mangalore. 'Bunta' means 'a strong man' or 'a soldier'. These people have contributed greatly in the economy and social life in the coastal area of the state of Karnataka. The Kota Brahmins constitute a part of the Brahmins who belong to the place of Tulu Nadu. The origin of these people is in Kundapur as well as the places nearby in Udupi.

Christianity is one of the major Mangalore religions. This religion was popularized in the city following the arrival of the Portuguese colonizers. The Saraswat Brahmins constitute another important section of people in the city of Mangalore. The forefathers of these people resided close to the River Saraswati. The Billavas are the other religious community in Mangalore. 'Billava' literally means 'hunter' or 'an arrow shooter'. The Billavas are being influenced by Narayana Guru's teachings. The Shivalli Brahmin community adheres to two different schools of religious philosophy. Some Shivalli Brahmins are the descendants of the Dwaita religious philosophy.

All the religions in Mangalore have their individual characters, which form significant parts of the culture of South India.

Last Updated on 21 September 2011