Anantapur District Map

District Map of Anantapur

separator Click here for Customized Maps arrow custom map
District Map of Anantapur Anantpur City Map Kurnool YSR Chitoor KARANATAKA
Print Email Save Buy Now 
*Anantapur District Map highlights the National Highway, Major Roads, District Headquarter, etc in Anantapur. Disclaimer

  Major Districts of Andhra Pradesh  
Anantpur District Map Guntur District Map East Godavari District Map Chittoor District Map
Anantpur District MapGuntur District MapEast Godavari District MapChittoor District Map
Prakasam District Map Krishna District Map Kurnool District Map Vishakhapatnam District Map
Prakasam District MapKrishna District MapKurnool District MapVishakhapatnam District Map
  Other Districts of Andhra Pradesh >>

Anantapur District is at the southwest of Andhra Pradesh. It is bounded by Karnataka to the west, Kadapa district to the east, the district of Chittoor to the South, and Kurnool district to its North. In 1882 the district was constituted separating it from the district of Bellary.

The District comprises of 3 revenue divisions which consists of 63 Revenue Mandals (Anantapur Division 20, Dharmavaram Division 17 and Penukonda Division 26). It is located between 13'-40' and 15'-15' Northern Latitude and 76'-50' and 78'-30' Eastern Longitude. According to the 2001 census the population of the district is 3639304. It covers an area of 19130 sq kms. The important cities of the district are Anantapur, Tadipatri, Kadiri, Dharmavaram,Uravakonda, Rayadurg, Hindupur, Guntakal, Kalyandurg. Other major places include Alur, Gooty, Chitrachedu, Enumaladoddi, Lepakshi, yalagalavanka and Puttaparthi.

The economy of Anantpur is principally based on agriculture. The farmers grow groundnut, rice, cotton, maize, chillies, sesame, and sugarcane. The district is one of the most backward province of Andhra Pradesh as it receives very little rainfall which adversely affects the agriculture sector based on monsoons. Few industries of the region are silk trade, limestone quarrying, iron and diamond mining. The Government of Andhra Pradesh had taken up various steps to revive the poor rural economy.

The various places of interest for tourists in the district of Anantpur are:
  • Gooty Fortress
  • Moharum Festival and Sri Anjaneya Swamy Temple at Gugudu
  • Veerabhadra Temple at Lepakshi
  • Nettikanti Veera Anjaneya Swamy Temple atKasapuram:
  • Sri Ranganatha Swamy Temple at Alurkona:
  • Degurla Narasimha Swamy Temple at Pennaahobilam:
  • Gutibayalu ( Banyan Tree spread over nearly 5 acres)
  • Prasanthi Nilayam at Puttapathy (abode of Puttaparthy Sri Sathya Sai Baba)
Few famous educational institutes of Anantpur district are:
  • Sri Sankarananda Giri Swamy Colleg
  • Government College, Anantpur, and Guntakal
  • Sri Sathya Sai Institute of Higher Learning
  • Jawaharlal Nehru Technological University
  • Sri Krishnadevaraya Institute of Management
  • Anantapur Law College
  • Sree Vijaya Nagar Law College
  • K. C. Narayana College of Education
  • Redos Sri Sairam Vidyaniketan B.Ed College
  • Haindavi Universal B.Ed College
  • Sri Balaji College of Education
  • Sri Krishnadevaraya University - College of Education
  • Adarsha College of Nursing
  • Balaji College of Nursing
  • JNTU College of Engineering

Last Updated on : February 28, 2020



Which States Share Boundary with China?India, in total, shares land borders with 6 sovereign countries. China is one of those. Below are the Indian states which share borders with the country. 1. Jammu and Kashmir This northern state of India is mostly located in the Himalayan mountains. It shares a… Read More...
Which States Share Boundaries with Pakistan? There are four states that share a border with Pakistan, namely, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, and Gujarat. The India Pakistan Border is quite intriguing. Since India has installed 1,50,000 flood lights on… Read More...
Which Places in India Still Largely Speak Sanskrit?Sanskrit is considered as Dev Bhasha, the language of Gods. It has a history of around 3500 years. It used to be a primary language of ancient India. Its earliest form Vedic Sanskrit, was prevalent from 1500 500 BCE. However, it is fading… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow for border and boundary demarcations