Chittoor District Map

District Map of Chittoor

separator Click here for Customized Maps arrow custom map
District Map of Chittoor
Print Email Save
*Chittoor District Map highlights the National Highway, Major Roads, District Headquarter, etc in Chittoor. Disclaimer

  Major Districts of Andhra Pradesh  
Anantpur District Map Guntur District Map East Godavari District Map Chittoor District Map
Anantpur District MapGuntur District MapEast Godavari District MapChittoor District Map
Prakasam District Map Krishna District Map Kurnool District Map Vishakhapatnam District Map
Prakasam District MapKrishna District MapKurnool District MapVishakhapatnam District Map
  Other Districts of Andhra Pradesh >>

Chittoor district is located in the extreme south of Andhra Pradesh, between 12o37' - 14o8' north latitudes and 78o3' - 79o55' east longitudes. It is surrounded by Anantapur and Cuddapah districts on the north, by Nellore and Chengai-Anna districts of Tamilnadu on the east, by North Arcot Ambedkar and Dharmapuri district of Tamilnadu on the south and by Kolar District of Karnataka on the west. The district is spread over 15152 Sq. Kms. As per 2001 census the population of Chittoor district is 37.35 lakhs.

The various Industries of Chittoor district generating employment for the people are sugar, ceramics, textile, railway wagon workshop,alcohol, moped, brass and copper. The popular handicrafts of the region are wooden crafts, kalamkari and bell metal and stone crafts. The forests of the region help the nation to earn foreign currency by exporting teak and red sandalwood. The other by-products of the forest are honey, tamarind, and many Ayurvedic plants, which earn revenues for the state.

The district of Chittoor is well connected to the various places of the state by rail and road. The headquarters of Chittoor district is at Tirupati which is the nearest airport. Water is supplied to the various places of the district by Galeru-Nagari-Sujala Sravanthi Project, Aarani Project, Peddheru Reservoir, Bugga dam on Kusastathi, Mallimadugu on Racha canal and Kalinga canal. The district receives electricity from the Thunga Bhadra Hydro Electric Project. Chitoor is a favorite destination for pilgrims. Some of the pilgrim centres are:
  • Akasa Ganga, Tirupati
  • Goddess Alamelumanga Temple, Tirupati
  • Hare Rama Hare Krishna Mandir, Tirupati
  • Kalyana Venateshwara Temple, Narayanavanam
  • Kapilatirtham, Tirupati
  • Kodandarama Swamy Temple, Tirupati
  • Lord Venkateswara Temple, Tirupati
  • Nagalapuram Temple, Nagalapuram
  • Sri Agastheswara Swamy Temple, Tirupati
  • Sri Kalahasthisvara Temple, Kalahasthi
  • Swami Pushkarini, Tirupati
  • The Govindarajaswami Temple, Tirupati
  • Sri Vara Sidhi Vinayak Temple, Kanipaakam
The other popular tourist spots of Chitoor are:
  • Chandragiri Fort, Chandragiri
  • Sila Thoranam Leisure Spots, Tirupati
  • Talakona hills, Talakona
  • Sri Venkateswara Wildlife Sanctuary, Tirupati
  • Kaundinya Wildlife Sanctuary, Palamaneru
  • Horsley Hills, Madanapalle
Here's a list of few well-known colleges of Chitoor:
  • Rukmini Devi Arundale College of Education
  • Sree Rama College of Education
  • Dr. Kunchala Rajarathnam Christian College of Education
  • Inst of Advnced Study In Edn Sri Venkateswara Unive
  • Sri Padmavathi Mahila Viswavidyalam
  • Aragonda Apollo College of Nursing
  • RKM Law College
  • Kuppam Engineering College
  • Madanapalle Institute of Technology & Science
  • Siddardha Institute of Engineering & Technology
  • Sri Venkateswara College of Engineering & Technology
  • Government Degree College, at Avanigadda, Karvetinatar, Puttur, Punganur, Piler, and Pamlamaner
  • SEICOM Degree College, at Tirupati and Kalikiri

Last Updated on : December 12, 2022