Chief Minister of Karnataka

K. Siddaramaiah is the 22nd Chief Minister of the state of Karnataka. At present he is the leader of the Indian National Congress party in Karnataka. He has also been a member of many Janata Parivar parties for a number of years. Previously, he was a leader of the Janata Dal (Secular) party. On two occasions he had also played the role of the Deputy Chief Minister of Karnataka. He is also a leader of the Kuruba (shepherd) community in Karnataka. On 13th May 2013, Siddaramaiah was sworn in as the new Chief Minister of Karnataka.

K. Siddaramaiah Background

Siddaramaiah was born on 12th August 1948 in Siddaramanahundi village, Varuna Hobli, Mysore District. He was born to Siddaramegowda and Boramma in a farmer family and is the second amongst five siblings. Siddaramaiah received no formal schooling till he was ten years old but he went on to do his B.Sc and Bachelor of Law degree from Mysore University. Siddaramaiah is married to Parvathi and has two sons, Yathindra and Rakesh.

K. Siddaramaiah Political career

In 1978, Siddaramaiah began his political career when he contested on a Bharatiya Lok Dal ticket from the Chamundeshwari constituency. In 1983, he entered the 7th Karnataka Legislative Assembly and attained a surprise victory, earning him fame in the old Mysore region.

Later on, he joined the Janata Party and became the first president of Kannada Watchdog Committee (Kannada Kavalu Samiti) which was set up to administer the implementation of Kannada as the state's official language.

In the 1985 mid-term polls, Siddaramaiah was re-elected from the same constituency and was made the Minister for Animal Husbandry and Veterinary Services. He has also handled various portfolios at different stages such as Transport, Animal Husbandry, Sericulture, etc.

In the 1989 Assembly elections, Siddaramaiah suffered defeat when Congress' Rajashekaramurthy won and later in 1992, he was chosen as the Secretary General of Janata Dal.

In the 1994 State Elections, he was elected again and became the Minister for Finance in the Janata Dal government and in 1996 he became the Deputy Chief Minister of Karnataka.

After splitting with Janata Dal, Siddaramaiah joined the Janata Dal (Secular) party of Deve Gowda and became the president of its state component. However, he lost the 1999 state elections. In 2004, he was again appointed as Deputy Chief Minister.

In 2006, Siddaramaiah was expelled from JD (S). He then acquired mass support from the backward classes and joined the Congress party. In the 2008 state Assembly elections, he was re-elected for the fifth time from the Varuna Constituency.

In the 2013 Karnataka elections on 8th May 2013, the congress won the elections and Siddaramaiah was elected as the leader of the Congress legislative party in Karnataka on 10th May 2013. On 13th May 2013 he was made the Chief Minister of Karnataka.

List of Chief Ministers (CM) of Karnataka

Sl.No.Name of Chief MinistersFromToParty
1K. Chengalaraya ReddyOct 25, 1947Mar 30, 1952INC
2Kengal HanumanthaiahMar 30, 1952Aug 19, 1956INC
3Kadidal ManjappaAug 19, 1956Oct 31, 1956INC
4S. NijalingappaNov 1, 1956Apr 10, 1957INC
5S. NijalingappaApr 10, 1957May 16, 1958INC
6B. D. JattiMay 16, 1958Mar 9, 1962INC
7S. R. KanthiMar 14, 1962Jun 20, 1962INC
8S. NijalingappaJun 21, 1962Mar 3, 1967INC
9S. NijalingappaMar 3, 1967May 29, 1968 
10Veerendra PatilMay 29, 1968Mar 18, 1971INC
  President's ruleMar 19, 1971Mar 20, 1972 
11D. Devaraj UrsMar 20, 1972Dec 31, 1977INC
  President's ruleDec 31, 1977Feb 28, 1978 
12D. Devaraj UrsFeb 28, 1978Jan 7, 1980INC
13R. Gundu RaoJan 12, 1980Jan 6, 1983INC
14Ramakrishna HegdeJan 10, 1983Dec 29, 1984JNP
15Ramakrishna HegdeMar 8, 1985Feb 13, 1986JNP
16Ramakrishna HegdeFeb 16, 1986Aug 10, 1988JNP
17S. R. BommaiAug 13, 1988Apr 21, 1989JNP
  President's ruleApr 21, 1989Nov 30, 1989 
18Veerendra PatilNov 30, 1989Oct 10, 1990INC
  President's ruleOct 10, 1990Oct 17, 1990 
19S. BangarappaOct 17, 1990Nov 19, 1992INC
20M. Veerappa MoilyNov 19, 1992Dec 11, 1994INC
21H. D. Deve GowdaDec 11, 1994May 31, 1996JD
22J. H. PatelMay 31, 1996Oct 7, 1999JD
23S. M. KrishnaOct 11, 1999May 28, 2004INC
24Dharam SinghMay 28, 2004Jan 28, 2006INC, JD(S)
25H. D. KumaraswamyFeb 3, 2006Oct 8, 2007BJP-JD(S)
  President's ruleOct 9, 2007Nov 11, 2007 
26B. S. YeddyurappaNov 12, 2007Nov 19, 2007BJP
  President's ruleNov 20, 2007May 29, 2008 
27B. S. YeddyurappaMay 30, 2008Jul 31, 2011BJP
28D. V. Sadananda GowdaAug 4, 2011Jul 12, 2012BJP
29Jagadish ShettarJul 12, 2012May 12, 2013BJP
30SiddaramaiahMay 13, 2013PresentINC

Chief Ministers of India

Andhra PradeshJharkhandPondicherry
Arunachal PradeshKarnatakaPunjab
BiharMadhya PradeshSikkim
ChhattisgarhMaharashtraTamil Nadu
GujaratMizoramUttar pradesh
Himachal PradeshOrissaWest Bengal
Jammu Kashmir 

Last Updated on : September 13, 2014

  Government and Politics  



How many states are there in India? There are 29 states and 7 union territories in India. The states have their own government while the union territories are governed by the central government. The states are namely, Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Bihar,… Read More...
Which cities in India have the metro railway system? The Metro railway system and service are operational in 10 cities in India. These are Kolkata, Delhi, Bengaluru, Gurugram, Mumbai, Chennai, Jaipur, Kochi, Hyderabad, and Lucknow. The Kolkata Metro rail is the… Read More...
Which states in India have less population than Delhi? Delhi has a population of approximately 18.6 million people, as per the latest census. Delhi's area is much less as compared to many states and Union territories in India. But in… Read More...

We follow for border and boundary demarcations