Aligarh Muslim University

Located in Aligarh, Uttar Pradesh, Aligarh Muslim University is a residential educational institution, established in the year 1875. The university received its status of the “Central University” in 1920. The university has been modeled following the Cambridge University and is one of the premier institutions of higher education and also Muslim education since a long time. Originally known as Mohammedan Anglo Oriental College, this university was initiated by Sir Syed Ahmed Khan, who felt the need of modern education for the Muslims. Prominent Urdu writers, famous Muslim leaders and scholars have been associated with the university.

At present, Aligarh Muslim University provides with more than two fifty modern as well as traditional courses in education. With a number of faculties and institutions the university attracts students from all across the globe. The Chancellor of the university is Justice A.M. Ahmadi and the Vice-Chancellor is Prof. P.K. Abdul Azis.

Faculties of Aligarh Muslim University

The University houses more than 10 faculties with specialized departments in each of the faculties. The faculties of the university can be listed as follows.
  • Faculty of Agricultural Sciences
  • Faculty of Arts
  • Faculty of Commerce
  • Faculty of Engineering and Technology
  • Faculty of Law
  • Faculty of Life Sciences
  • Faculty of Management Studies and Research
  • Faculty of Medicine
  • Dental College
  • Faculty of Science
  • Faculty of Social Science
  • Faculty of Theology
  • Faculty of Unani Medicine
The different schools and colleges under the university are as follows.
  • J.N.Medical College
  • Zakir Husain College of Engineering and Technology
  • Women’s College
  • A.K.Tibbiya College
  • Sir Ziauddin Dental College
  • A.B.K. Union High School
  • Abdullah Nursery School
  • Ahmadi School for Blind
  • City Girls High School
  • AMU Girls High School
  • City High School
  • Senior Seconadary School (Boys)
  • S.T.S. High School
  • Senior Secondary School (Girls)
The research centres of the university are
  • Interdisciplinary Biotechnolgy Unit
  • Centre for Comparative Study of Indian Languages & Culture
  • Centre of West Asian Studies
  • Centre of Women Studies
  • Centre of Nehru Studies
The facilities availed and enjoyed by the students of Aligarh Muslim university are, the university has the 2nd largest library in Asia with a collection of more than 11 lakh books and other documents. The library sprawls over an area of 4.5 acres with 7 storeys. One of the priced and valuable collections at the library is the assortment of 16000 manuscripts which are very rare. Besides this, the library is also equipped with online journals, computer laboratories and digital resources on various subjects.

Apart from these the other helpful facilities offered by the university are health services, sports committee, clubs, computer centre, guest house, sixteen “Hall of residence” with 69 hostels, Non-Resident Student’s Centre, etc.

At present the university is thinking of establishing 5 regional centres all over the country in Bhopal, Murshidabad, Pune, Malappuram and Kishanganj. It is also planning to establish soon a “Centre of Excellence in Material Science/Nanotechnology”. The university continues to be a premier seat of learning with large number of students not only in India but also world wide especially from South East Asia, West Asia and Africa. Seats are also reserved for SAARC and Commonwealth Nations, in few courses. The 2009 ranking by the “Council of Scientific and Industrial Research” ranked the university as the 8th best, among the research universities in our country.

  Universities in India  
Central Universities
HaryanaKeralaTamil Nadu
Jammu KashmirOrissa 
IIT Universities
IIT bhuIIT indoreIIT mumbai
IIT bhubaneswarIIT kanpurIIT patna
IIT delhiIIT kharagpurIIT rajasthan
IIT gandhinagarIIT madrasIIT roorkee
IIT guwahatiIIT mandiIIT ropar
IIT hyderabad  
NIT Universities
NIT durgapurNIT kurukshetraNIT tiruchirappalli
NIT hamirpurNIT rourkelaNIT warangal
NIT jamshedpurNIT silcharNIT calicut
NIT karnatakaNIT srinagar
Ahmedabad gujarat UniversityMalaviya national institute of technology jaipur
AICTEMangalore University
Aligarh muslim UniversityManipur University
Assam UniversityMathura University
Babasaheb bhimrao ambedkar UniversityMaulana azad national institute of technology bhopal
Banaras hindu UniversityMG University
Bangalore University collegesMizoram University
Bangalore UniversityMother teresa womens University
Barkatullah UniversityMotilal nehru national institute of technology
Bhavnagar universityMumbai University courses
Bikaner UniversityMumbai University
Central institute of agricultural UniversityMysore University
Chandra shekhar azad University of agriculture and technologyNTR University of health sciences
Cochin University of science and technologyNagaland University
Council of architectureNagpur University
Delhi UniversityNational commission for minority educational institutions
Doctor harisingh gaur vishwa vidyalayaNorth eastern hill University
Guru ghasidas vishwavidyalayaNorth gujarat University
Guru nanak dev University in amritsarOpen University
Gurukul kangri UniversityOsmania University hyderabad
Hemwati nandan bahuguna garhwal UniversityPandit dwarka prasad mishra iIITdm kanchipuram
Hemwati nandan bahuguna garwhal UniversityPandit dwarka prasad mishra iIITdm
Hnb garhwal UniversityPondicherry University
Hyderabad central UniversityPune University
IGNOURajiv gandhi indian institute of management
Indian council of historical researchRajiv gandhi technical University
Indian council of philosophical researchRanchi University
Indian council of social science researchSanskrit University
Indian institute of advanced studies iiasSardar vallabhbhai national institute of technology
Indian institute of management bangaloreSastra deemed University
Indian institute of management calcuttaSaurashtra University
Indian institute of management kozhikodeySikkim University
Indian institute of science bangaloreSouth gujarat University
Indira gandhi national tribal UniversityTamil University
Indore UniversityTejpur University
Indraprastha University delhiTripura University
Jalandhar UniversityUniversity grants commission
Jamia millia islamia delhiUniversity of agriculture and technology
Jawaharlal nehru University delhiUniversity of delhi
Jiwaji UniversityUniversity of hyderabad
Kamaraj UniversityUniversity of kolkata
Karnataka state open UniversityUniversity of lucknow
Karnataka UniversityUniversity of petroleum for energy studies
Madhya pradesh bhoj UniversityVeer narmad south gujarat University gujarat
Madurai UniversityVisva bharati shantiniketan
Maharaja sayajirao University barodaVisvesvaraya national institute of technology

Last Updated on : January 14, 2014

Advertise with us
Call Us- 08750051913