Jawaharlal Nehru University, Delhi

Jawaharlal Nehru University (JNU), one of the oldest Delhi Universities, is named after the first Indian Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru. The university caters to 5500 students and has over 500 faculties. Jawaharlal Nehru University Delhi also known as JNU has some of the best faculties, who are great academicians. Among the top 200 institutions in the world, Jawaharlal Nehru University of Delhi is ranked at 183rd position.

The highly prestigious Jawaharlal Nehru University in Delhi was established in the year of 1969 and has great curricula for different courses of studies. Degrees are offered for professional as well as vocational courses. Apart from the degree courses, there are diploma as well as certificate courses. All the courses are based on the needs of the modern society and the current professional needs.

The state of the art facilities of JNU include well equipped library facilities and hostel facilities. The hostel facility indeed is greatly helpful for the students coming from far and wide to attain classes in this university. Jawaharlal Nehru University also offers scholarships based merit and economical background. Admission is completely based on merit, for which previous academic records are consulted along with results of admission tests. There are quota for backward classes as well as physically challenged people.

Schools under Jawaharlal Nehru University
  • School of Arts and Aesthetics
  • School of Computer and Systems Sciences
  • School of Bio-Technology
  • School of Environmental Sciences
  • School of International Studies
  • School of Information Technology
  • School of Language, Literature and Cultural Studies
  • School of Life Sciences
  • School of Social Sciences
  • School of Physical Sciences
Centres of JNU
  • Centre for Molecular Medicine
  • Special Centre for Sanskrit Studies
  • Centre for the Study of Law and Governance
  • Centre for International Trade and Development
Affiliated Institutions of JNU

Some of the institutions under JNU affiliation are mentioned below.
  • Central Drug Research Institute
  • Centre for Development Studies
  • Central Institute of Medicine and Aromatic Plants, Lucknow
  • C.V.Raman Research Institute, Bangalore
  • College of Military Engineering (CME), Pune
  • International Centre for Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology
  • Institute of Microbial Technology, Chandigarh
  • Military College of Electronics and Mechanical Engineering, Secunderabad
  • Naval College of Engineering (NCE), INS Shivaji, Lonavla
  • Military College of Telecommunication Engineering (MCTE), Mhow
  • National Institute of Immunology (NII), New Delhi
  • Nuclear Science Centre, New Delhi
Facilities offered by the Jawaharlal Nehru University are hostel accommodation, guest houses, medical and sport facilities, disability support, cultural clubs etc. The unique and special feature of the university is its library which is the tallest building of the university within the campus with 9 storeys. It has a huge collection of books, journals, newspapers, and is equipped with reading rooms and computer terminals.

JNU has signed up MoUs with seventy one foreign universities thereby exchanging academic collaboration and programmes. The chancellor of JNU is Prof. Yash Pal and the vice chancellor is Prof B.B. Bhattacharya.

  Universities in India  
Central Universities
HaryanaKeralaTamil Nadu
Jammu KashmirOrissa 
IIT Universities
IIT bhuIIT indoreIIT mumbai
IIT bhubaneswarIIT kanpurIIT patna
IIT delhiIIT kharagpurIIT rajasthan
IIT gandhinagarIIT madrasIIT roorkee
IIT guwahatiIIT mandiIIT ropar
IIT hyderabad  
NIT Universities
NIT durgapurNIT kurukshetraNIT tiruchirappalli
NIT hamirpurNIT rourkelaNIT warangal
NIT jamshedpurNIT silcharNIT calicut
NIT karnatakaNIT srinagar
Ahmedabad gujarat UniversityMalaviya national institute of technology jaipur
AICTEMangalore University
Aligarh muslim UniversityManipur University
Assam UniversityMathura University
Babasaheb bhimrao ambedkar UniversityMaulana azad national institute of technology bhopal
Banaras hindu UniversityMG University
Bangalore University collegesMizoram University
Bangalore UniversityMother teresa womens University
Barkatullah UniversityMotilal nehru national institute of technology
Bhavnagar universityMumbai University courses
Bikaner UniversityMumbai University
Central institute of agricultural UniversityMysore University
Chandra shekhar azad University of agriculture and technologyNTR University of health sciences
Cochin University of science and technologyNagaland University
Council of architectureNagpur University
Delhi UniversityNational commission for minority educational institutions
Doctor harisingh gaur vishwa vidyalayaNorth eastern hill University
Guru ghasidas vishwavidyalayaNorth gujarat University
Guru nanak dev University in amritsarOpen University
Gurukul kangri UniversityOsmania University hyderabad
Hemwati nandan bahuguna garhwal UniversityPandit dwarka prasad mishra iIITdm kanchipuram
Hemwati nandan bahuguna garwhal UniversityPandit dwarka prasad mishra iIITdm
Hnb garhwal UniversityPondicherry University
Hyderabad central UniversityPune University
IGNOURajiv gandhi indian institute of management
Indian council of historical researchRajiv gandhi technical University
Indian council of philosophical researchRanchi University
Indian council of social science researchSanskrit University
Indian institute of advanced studies iiasSardar vallabhbhai national institute of technology
Indian institute of management bangaloreSastra deemed University
Indian institute of management calcuttaSaurashtra University
Indian institute of management kozhikodeySikkim University
Indian institute of science bangaloreSouth gujarat University
Indira gandhi national tribal UniversityTamil University
Indore UniversityTejpur University
Indraprastha University delhiTripura University
Jalandhar UniversityUniversity grants commission
Jamia millia islamia delhiUniversity of agriculture and technology
Jawaharlal nehru University delhiUniversity of delhi
Jiwaji UniversityUniversity of hyderabad
Kamaraj UniversityUniversity of kolkata
Karnataka state open UniversityUniversity of lucknow
Karnataka UniversityUniversity of petroleum for energy studies
Madhya pradesh bhoj UniversityVeer narmad south gujarat University gujarat
Madurai UniversityVisva bharati shantiniketan
Maharaja sayajirao University barodaVisvesvaraya national institute of technology

Last Updated on : January 14, 2014

Advertise with us
Call Us- 08750051913