Home/Jharkhand Archives - Who-is-who


Dr. Syed Ahmed, the current governor of Jharkhand, represents the Indian National Congress (INC) and was sworn in as the Governor of the state on September 4th 2011. Dr. Ahmed holds two masters degrees in English and Hindi and has obtained a doctorate in Urdu. He is a published author as well and his autobiography is titled Pagdandi Se Shahar Tak. Ahmed joined the INC in 1977 and was elected to the Vidhan Sabha five [...]

Arjun Munda is the former Chief Minister of Jharkhand and a former Member of Parliament to the 15th Lok Sabha. Mr. Munda began his political career in the 1980’s as a teenager with the Jharkhand Movement, headed by the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha. The idea behind this movement was to create a tribal state in the southern area of the Bihar state. Munda’s popularity grew from his helping tribes and other backward communities and in 1995 [...]