Home   »   Government & Politics

Category Archives: Government & Politics

H D Deve GowdaBiography

Haradanahalli Doddegowda Deve Gowda is a politician who served as the 11th Prime Minister of the country. He held the office from 1 June 1996 to 21 April 1997. Prior to that, he served as the 14th Chief Minister of Karnataka during the period- 1994 to 1996. Currently, he is the member of Lok Sabha and represents Hassan constituency of Karnataka. He is also the present National President of the Janata Dal (Secular) party. Early [...]

K-Siddaramaiah Biography

K. Siddaramaiah was the 22nd Chief Minister of the state of Karnataka. At present, he is the leader of the Indian National Congress party in Karnataka. He has also been a member of many Janata Parivar parties for a number of years. Previously, he was a leader of the Janata Dal (Secular) party. On two occasions he had also played the role of the Deputy Chief Minister of Karnataka. He is also a leader of [...]

A brilliant leader and taskmaster of the Bharatiya Janata Party, Vijay Ramniklal Rupani is the incumbent Chief Minister of the state of Gujarat. His passion for politics is unsurpassed as he has contributed significantly to the political arena since his school days. He has traversed innumerable stages of the Bharatiya Janata Party(BJP)- From being an ABVP activist to Rajya Sabha Member, MLA, Cabinet Minister to become the 16th Chief Minister of Gujarat. Family Background The [...]

Nirmala Sitharaman Biography

Nirmala Sitharaman is the second women Defense Minister of India. She is the first full-time women Defense Minister of India. She is associated with the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). She joined the BJP in 2006. She is the former Minister of State (Independent Charge) for Finance and Coporate Affairs. She is a BJP leader from a pro-Congress family. She is an avid reader and maintains her personal Twitter handle @nsitharaman. Sitharaman laid the foundation of [...]

Mamta Banerjee Biography

About Mamata Banerjee¬†born on 5 January 1955 in Kolkata, is the current Chief Minister of West Bengal and the first woman to hold the office. Popularly known as “Didi”, Banerjee is the chairperson of All India Trinamool Congress Party which she founded in 1997 after splitting from the Indian National Congress. She served as Minister of Coal, Minister of State for Human Resource Development, Department of Youth Affairs and Sports, Department of Women and Child [...]

Yashwant Sinha is a renowned Indian politician and a member of the BJP (Bharatiya Janata Party). Yashwant Sinha was a former Finance minister and Foreign minister under the Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ministry. Yashwant Sinha was born on 6th November, 1937 at Patna, in Bihar, India. Yashwant completed his formal education from Patna itself, moving on to secure a Masters Degree in Political Science in 1958. Coming down a long way in Indian politics, Yashwant Sinha [...]

Vishwanath Pratap Singh or V.P.Singh, the 10th Prime Minister of India, brought an upheaval in Indian politics by defeating the Congress in the 1989 elections. Due to problems with the then Prime Minister of India , Rajiv Gandhi, regarding the Bofors scandal, he left the Congress party. He was sworn in as the Prime Minister of India on 2nd December,1989. Vishwanath Pratap Singh was born on 25th June, 1931, in Allahabad.After completing his education in [...]

Vilasrao Dagadojirao Deshmukh was born in Babhalgaon, Maharashtra on 26th May 1945 and was a well known Indian politician. He was a Member of Parliament in Rajya Shabha, a member of the Indian National Congress and two times Chief Minister of Maharashtra. He held the posts of Minister of Rural Development, Minister of Panchayati Raj, Minister of Heavy Industries and Public Enterprises, Minister of Science and Technology and Minister of Earth Sciences. In August 2012, [...]

Vijay Bahuguna is the Chief Minister of the state of Uttarakhand and was sworn in on March 13th 2012. Born in Allahabad, Bahuguna obtained a bachelors degree and then a degree in law from the Allahabad University in Allahabad. He began working as an advocate in the Allahabad High Court, finally rising to the ranks of a judge and serving in the Bombay High Court. He resigned from his position as a judge in 1998 [...]

Born on 4th June 1937, Vayalar Ravi is an Indian politician and currently the Union Cabinet Minister of Overseas Indian Affairs and a member of the Rajya Sabha. He also served as the All India Congress Committee (AICC) General Secretary and the Kerala Pradesh Congress Committee (KPCC) President. He is a bachelor of law and a postgraduate. Vayalar Ravi was born in Vayalar, Kerala. His father Mr. M.K Krishnan was a veteran freedom fighter and [...]