Chandra Shekhar Azad Biography

Chandra Shekhar Azad A daring freedom fighter and a fearless revolutionary, Chandra Shekhar was born on 23rd July 1906 in Bhavra, Madhya Pradesh. Involved in incidents such as Kakori Train Robbery, Assembly Bomb incident and the shooting of Saunders at Lahore, to avenge the killing of Lala Lajpat Rai, he was the face of revolutionary India.

Son of Pandit Sitaram Tiwari and Jagarani Devi, he received his earlier education at Bhavra and was sent to the Sanskrit Pathshala at Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh for higher studies. At a very young age he got involved in revolutionary activities. He joined the non-cooperation movement launched by Mahatma Gandhi. Caught by the British police while indulging in revolutionary activities he was sentenced to 15 whiplashes as his first punishment. At that time he was mere 15 years old. It was after this incident that Chandrashekhar assumed the title of Azad and came to be known as Chandrashekhar Azad.

Disillusioned with Mahatma Gandhi's suspension of non-cooperation movement due to Chauri-Chaura incident, he turned extremist. Chandrashekhar Azad was a believer in socialism,he along with other revolutionaries formed 'The Hindustan Socialist Republican Association'. He was a mentor to many revolutionaries including Bhagat Singh. He wanted complete independence for India by any means. Chandrashekhar Azad killed British Assistant Supretendent of Police John Poyantz Saunders to avenge the death of Lala Lajpat Rai. He remained a terror for British government as long as he was alive. On 27th February 1931, betrayed by one of the associates, he was besieged by the British police in Alfred Park, Allahabad . He fought valiantly but seeing no other way he shot himself and fulfilled his resolve to die a 'free man'.

He his still a hero for millions of Indians and many movies such as Shaheed Bhagat Singh, The Legend of Bhagat Singh and 23rd March 1931 has been made on his life.

  Related Links  
Indian freedom movement
SukhdevChittaranjan Das
Shivaram RajguruDadabhai Naoroji
Surendranath BannerjeeJatindra Mohan Sengupta
Laxmi SehgalJawaharlal Nehru
Abdul Gafar KhanKhudiram Bose
Rash Behari BoseLala Lajpat Rai
Rani Lakshmi BaiMadan Mohan Malviya
Ram Singh KukaMahatma Gandhi
Lala HardayalMangal Pandey
Begum Hazrat MahalMaulana Abul Kalam Azad
Bipin Chandra PalMotilal Nehru
Sri Alluri Seetarama RajuNellie Sengupta
Veer SavarkarPandit Balakrishna Sharma
Subhash Chandra BosePuspa Lata Das
Bhim Sen SacharRam Manohar Lohia
Acharya KripalaniRam Prasad Bismil
Aruna Asaf AliSagarmal Gopa
Ashfaqulla KhanSardar Vallabh Bhai Patel
Bal Gangadhar TilakShaheed Bhagat Singh
Chandra Shekhar Azad

Last Updated on : August 8, 2014