Jatindra Mohan Sengupta Biography

Jatindra Mohan Sengupta was one of the active rebels who fought for India's freedom. He was born in Baramw, in Chittagong district, Bangladesh in 1885. Son of Jatra Mohan Sengupta, a member of the West Bengal Legislative Council and an advocate, Jatindra Mohan Sengupta studied in Presidency College, Kolkata.
In 1904, he traveled to England to attain his bachelors degree in law. During his stay in England, he fell in love with an English lady Nellie Gray and married her. The couple came back to settle down in Chittagong in 1909 where he started his legal practice as a barrister.

In 1911, Barrister Jatindra Mohan Sengupta commenced his political career by representing Chittagong in the Bengal Provincial Conference at Faridpur. He was elected Secretary of the Indian National Congress and subsequently the Chairman of the Bengal Reception Committees. In 1921, Jatindra Mohan gave up his profession as a lawyer and took part in the Non-Cooperative Movement called by Mahatma Gandhi. In 1923 he became an elected member of the Bengal Legislative Council.

Jatindra Mohan Sengupta, the forerunner of the trade union movement became the President of the Assam-Bengal Railway Union and the Burma Oil Labour Union during British India. When C.R Das, an activist of Freedom Movement died in 1925, Jatindra Mohan Sengupta was elected as the President of the Bengal Swaraj Party. Thereafter he became the President of the Bengal Provincial Congress Committee and lead the Congress Party in the Bengal Legislative Council.

In Calcutta Jatindra Mohan Sengupta lead the Congress Municipal Association. People of Bengal used to call him Deshpriya Jatindra Mohan Sengupta for his altruistic contribution towards the well-being of his people and his country. He died on 23 July, 1933 while in prison in Ranchi.

  Related Links  
Indian freedom movement
SukhdevChittaranjan Das
Shivaram RajguruDadabhai Naoroji
Surendranath BannerjeeJatindra Mohan Sengupta
Laxmi SehgalJawaharlal Nehru
Abdul Gafar KhanKhudiram Bose
Rash Behari BoseLala Lajpat Rai
Rani Lakshmi BaiMadan Mohan Malviya
Ram Singh KukaMahatma Gandhi
Lala HardayalMangal Pandey
Begum Hazrat MahalMaulana Abul Kalam Azad
Bipin Chandra PalMotilal Nehru
Sri Alluri Seetarama RajuNellie Sengupta
Veer SavarkarPandit Balakrishna Sharma
Subhash Chandra BosePuspa Lata Das
Bhim Sen SacharRam Manohar Lohia
Acharya KripalaniRam Prasad Bismil
Aruna Asaf AliSagarmal Gopa
Ashfaqulla KhanSardar Vallabh Bhai Patel
Bal Gangadhar TilakShaheed Bhagat Singh
Chandra Shekhar Azad

Last Updated on : February 1, 2014



Which State is Biggest Rice Producer? West Bengal is the largest producer of rice in India. India is one of the largest… Read More...
Which is the Wettest Place in India Cherrapunji or Mawsynram? Mawsynram is the wettest place in India. For a considerable amount of time, Cherrapunji had occupied the position of… Read More...
Which state has the Highest Crude Birth Rate? Bihar has the highest crude birth rate in India. Crude Birth Rate is defined as the… Read More...

Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Share to Twitter Share to Twitter Share