Delhi Metro Magenta Line Map

Delhi Metro Magenta Line Map

Delhi Metro Magenta Line Map
*Delhi Metro Magenta Line Map : Botanical Garden - Janakpuri West. Disclaimer


Magenta Line of Delhi Metro was inaugurated by Prime Minister Narendra Modi on December 25, 2017. The Magenta Line is the first metro route in Delhi to have driverless metro trains being operated. Initially, the Botanical Garden-Kalkaji Mandir corridor was made operational for the commuters.

Magenta Line will have interchange facility available for Yellow, Violet, and Blue Lines of the metro after they becoming fully operational.

About Janakpuri West-Kalkaji Mandir Metro Stretch

The 24.82-km long Janakpuri West-Kalkaji Mandir stretch of the Delhi Metro's Magenta Line will be inaugurated today by the Union Minister for Housing and Urban Affairs (Independent Charge) Hardeep Singh Puri and Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal at 4.30 pm at the Nehru Enclave metro station. This is the longest stretch of the Delhi Metro opened so far under DMRC's Phase-III project. The total stretch comprises 16 stations i.e. 14 underground and 2 elevated. The five-level new Hauz Khas station on this metro line is the deepest metro station in the entire DMRC network. This 29 meters deep-down station is an engineering landmark as its tunnel goes beneath that of the old stations.

The metros on this line will become operative from 6 am on Tuesday from the Kalkaji Mandir and Janakpuri West stations simultaneously.

Advantages of traveling by Janakpuri West-Kalkaji Mandir Metro Line

With the inauguration of this line, the two new interchange facilities will be available. One is from Janakpuri West (on the Dwarka - NOIDA/ Vaishali Blue Line) and the other one is at Hauz Khas (on the HUDA City Centre - Samaypur Badli Yellow line). The traveling time between Gurugram and Noida will get reduced by 30 minutes as the commuters will don't have to through the jam-packed Rajiv Chowk Metro station. This metro stretch has a direct connectivity to Terminal I (domestic terminal) of Indira Gandhi International Airport on the Janakpuri West-Kalkaji Mandir Metro Line.

A "Knowledge Corridor"

The Magenta Line is observed as the 'Knowledge Corridor' by the DMRC as the connectivity to four major universities of the Delhi-National Capital Region (NCR) lies on this line. The Jawaharlal Nehru University (JNU) and Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) will get metro connectivity from tomorrow after Janakpuri-Kalkaji Mandir metro line becomes operational. The Jamia Milia Islamia University in south Delhi and Amity University in Noida already have metro connectivity with the opening of the Botanical Garden-Kalkaji Mandir section in December 2017.

Stations covered by this line

The stations on this corridor are Janakpuri West, Dabri Mor, Dashrathpuri, Palam, Sadar Bazar, Terminal 1 - IGI Airport, Shankar Vihar, Vasant Vihar, Munirka, RK Puram, Hauz Khas, IIT, Panchsheel Park, Chirag Delhi, GK Enclave, Nehru Enclave and Kalkaji Mandir.

List of Metro Stations on Magenta Line

S.No.Station NameStatus
1Janakpuri WestOperational Blue line
2Dabri MorOperational
3Dashrath PuriOperational
5Sadaar Bazaar CantonmentOperational
6Terminal 1 IGI AirportOperational
7Shankar ViharOperational
8Vasant ViharOperational
10R.K PuramOperational
11IIT DelhiOperational
12Hauz KhasOperational Yellow Line
13Panchsheel ParkOperational
14Chirag DelhiOperational
15Greater KailashOperational
16Nehru EnclaveOperational
17Kalkaji MandirOperational Violet Line
18Okhla NSICOperational
19Sukhdev ViharOperational
20Jamia Millia IslamiaOperational
21Okhla ViharOperational
22Jasola Vihar Shaheen BaghOperational
23Kalindi KunjOperational
24Okhla Bird SanctuaryOperational
25Botanical GardenOperational Blue line

Last Updated on: October 08, 2020