India Bhutan Map

India Bhutan Map

India Bhutan Map
Email   Buy Now
*Map showing location of india Bhutan borders, areas and boundary maps of India Bhutan.

Disclaimer: All efforts have been made to make this image accurate. However Mapping Digiworld Pvt Ltd and its directors do not own any responsibility for the correctness or authenticity of the same.

Bhutan and India are neighbouring countries that share border with each other. The Indian states of West Bengal, Arunachal Pradesh, Sikkim and Assam share their borders with Bhutan. The Kingdom of Bhutan and the Republic of India are divided by an international boundary that is about 699 km long. This border is the only land access to enter Bhutan because the border with China is entirely closed. The single entry point between Bhutan and India for foreign nationals is Jaigaon in West Bengal, India and Phuntsholing in southwest Bhutan. In order to guard the India-Bhutan borderline on its side, the Indian government has about 12 battalions of Sashastra Seema Bal (SSB) posted there and there are132 border posts on the line. To assess and secure the India-Bhutan borderline, a bilateral Indian-Bhutan Group Border Management and Security has been formed.

In 1865, the border was demarcated by the Treaty of Peace that was signed between Britain and Bhutan. However, after the talks between India and Bhutan, the border was again refined and detailed between 1973 and 1984.


The Republic of India is a developing nation and the seventh-largest country in the world in terms of area. With a population of more than 1.3 billion, it is the most populated democracy in the world. Situated on the top of the Indian tectonic plate, it is a part of the Indo-Australian Plate. The country is surrounded by water from three sides - the Indian Ocean to its south, the Bay of Bengal to its southeast and the Arabian Sea to its southwest. Since independence, the country has maintained friendly bilateral relations with its neighbouring countries and other nations of the world.


A landlocked country in South Asia, the Kingdom of Bhutan is located at the eastern end of the Himalayas. The country shares borders with China and India. Bhutan's other two neighbouring countries are Nepal and Bangladesh. Nepal is separated from Bhutan by the Indian state of Sikkim and Bangladesh is separated from Bhutan by the Indian states of West Bengal and Assam. In 2008, Bhutan switched to constitutional monarchy from absolute monarchy. Agriculture, forestry and tourism are the main sources of income for the economy of Bhutan.


Last Updated on : June 8, 2015