Chandra Shekhar Biography

Chandra Shekhar was the 11th Prime Minister of India from 10th November,1990 to 21st June,1991. He was preceded by V.P.Singh and succeeded by P.V.Narasimha Rao.Chandra Shekhar was born in 1st July,1927in Ibrahimpatti. He was an active member of the Socialist Party.

But later he left it and joined the ruling Congress party. He became a member of the Rajya Sabha(1962-1967). He was also a member of the Lok Sabha from 1977-1979, 1980-1984 and from 1989 until he became the Prime Minister of India.

During the tenure of Vishwanath Pratap Singh as the Prime Minister of India, the BJP President L.K.Advani in order to popularize the Ram Janmabhoomi Movement set out on a Rathyatra But this Rathyatra sparked off communal feelings. V.P.Singh as Prime Minister ordered Advani’s arrest which led to the BJP withdrawing support to the National Front government.

A no- confidence motion followed and thus V PSingh had to resign. Chandra Shekhar left the Janata Dal and with many supporters and set up a new party called the Samajwadi Janata Dal. With the confidence of 64 MP’s( Member of Parliament)and the support of the opposition leader Rajiv Gandhi, his party formed the government.

Chandra Shekhar was sworn in as Prime Minister in 1990. But his government lasted for 7 months as the Congress under Rajiv Gandhi withdrew support which led to his resignation.