Home   »   Literature   »   Khushwant Singh Biography

Khushwant Singh Biography

Khushwant Singh is one of the most prominent novelists and journalists of India, Khushwant Singh was born on 2 February 1915 in Hadali (in present-day Pakistan). He graduated from the Government College, Lahore, before studying law at King’s College, London.
He wrote a weekly column, “With Malice towards One and All”, which was published in several leading newspapers all over the country. He had been the editor of Yojana, The Illustrated Weekly of India, The National Herald and the Hindustan Times. He also served as a member of the Rajya Sabha from 1980 to 1986.Singh died at the age of 99 on 20 March 2014 in Sujan Singh Park at his residence.

Notable Works

His notable works include:

  • The Mark of Vishnu and Other Stories
  • The History of Sikhs
  • Train to Pakistan
  • The Voice of God and Other Stories
  • I Shall Not Hear the Nightingale
  • The Sikhs Today
  • The Fall of the Kingdom of the Punjab
  • A History of the Sikhs
  • Ranjit Singh: The Maharajah of the Punjab
  • Ghadar 1915: India’s first armed revolution
  • A History of the Sikhs
  • A Bride for the Sahib and Other Stories
  • Black Jasmine
  • Tragedy of Punjab
  • Delhi: A Novel
  • Sex, Scotch and Scholarship: Selected Writings
  • Not a Nice Man to Know: The Best of Khushwant Singh
  • We Indians
  • Women and Men in My Life
  • Uncertain Liaisons; Sex, Strife and Togetherness in Urban India
  • Declaring Love in Four Languages, by Khushwant Singh and Sharda Kaushik
  • The Company of Women
  • Truth, Love and a Little Malice (an autobiography)
  • With Malice towards One and All
  • The End of India
  • Burial at the Sea
  • Paradise and Other Stories
  • A History of the Sikhs: 1469-1838
  • Death at My Doorstep
  • A History of the Sikhs: 1839-2004
  • The Illustrated History of the Sikhs
  • Why I Supported the Emergency: Essays and Profiles
  • The Sunset Club
  • Agnostic Khushwant Singh, There is no GOD
  • The Good, the Bad and the Ridiculous (co-authored with Humra Qureshi)

Awards & Achievements

1966: Rockfeller Grant
2000: Honest Man of the Year, Sulabh International
2006: Punjab Rattan Award, The Government of Punjab
2007: Padma Vibhushan, Government of India
2010: Sahitya Academy Fellowship by the Sahitya academy of India
2012: All-India Minorities Forum Annual Fellowship Award by Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh Akhilesh Yadav

Though he was awarded the Padma Bhushan in 1974, he returned it in 1984 to protest against the siege of the Golden Temple by the Indian Army.