Home   »   Government & Politics

Category Archives: Government & Politics

Nirmala Sitharaman Biography

Nirmala Sitharaman is the second women Defense Minister of India. She is the first full-time women Defense Minister of India. She is associated with the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). She joined the BJP in 2006. She is the former Minister of State (Independent Charge) for Finance and Coporate Affairs. She is a BJP leader from a pro-Congress family. She is an avid reader and maintains her personal Twitter handle @nsitharaman. Sitharaman laid the foundation of [...]

Mamta Banerjee Biography

About Mamata Banerjee born on 5 January 1955 in Kolkata, is the current Chief Minister of West Bengal and the first woman to hold the office. Popularly known as “Didi”, Banerjee is the chairperson of All India Trinamool Congress Party which she founded in 1997 after splitting from the Indian National Congress. She served as Minister of Coal, Minister of State for Human Resource Development, Department of Youth Affairs and Sports, Department of Women and Child [...]

Biography of Yashwant Sinha

Yashwant Sinha began his career as a professor teaching Political Science at the Patna University (1958-60), moving on to join the Indian Administrative Service in 1960. During his bureaucratic tenure as an I.A.S officer, which spanned over 24 years, Yashwant Sinha acquired immense experience on matters relating to foreign industrial collaborations, intellectual property rights, foreign trade, technology imports, and India’s external relations with the European Economic Community. He also won Officier de la Légion d’Honneur [...]

Vishwanath Pratap Singh or V.P.Singh, the 10th Prime Minister of India, brought an upheaval in Indian politics by defeating the Congress in the 1989 elections. Due to problems with the then Prime Minister of India, Rajiv Gandhi, regarding the Bofors scandal, he left the Congress party. He was sworn in as the Prime Minister of India on December 2, 1989. Vishwanath Pratap Singh was born on June 25, 1931, in Allahabad. After completing his education [...]

Vilasrao Dagadojirao Deshmukh was born in Babhalgaon, Maharashtra on 26th May 1945 and was a well known Indian politician. He was a Member of Parliament in Rajya Shabha, a member of the Indian National Congress and two times Chief Minister of Maharashtra. He held the posts of Minister of Rural Development, Minister of Panchayati Raj, Minister of Heavy Industries and Public Enterprises, Minister of Science and Technology and Minister of Earth Sciences. In August 2012, [...]

Vijay Bahuguna is the Chief Minister of the state of Uttarakhand and was sworn in on March 13th 2012. Born in Allahabad, Bahuguna obtained a bachelors degree and then a degree in law from the Allahabad University in Allahabad. He began working as an advocate in the Allahabad High Court, finally rising to the ranks of a judge and serving in the Bombay High Court. He resigned from his position as a judge in 1998 [...]

Born on 4th June 1937, Vayalar Ravi is an Indian politician and currently the Union Cabinet Minister of Overseas Indian Affairs and a member of the Rajya Sabha. He also served as the All India Congress Committee (AICC) General Secretary and the Kerala Pradesh Congress Committee (KPCC) President. He is a bachelor of law and a postgraduate. Vayalar Ravi was born in Vayalar, Kerala. His father Mr. M.K Krishnan was a veteran freedom fighter and [...]

Varahagiri Venkata Giri, also popularly known as V.V.Giri was born into a Telugu-speaking nationalist family on August 10, 1894 at Berhampur (presently in Orissa) in the former Presidency of Madras. He was a prominent Congress leader and served as the fourth President of India from August 24, 1969 to August 23, 1974. In the year 1913, Giri went to University College, Dublin for studying law. There, he became acquainted with many famous personalities. On his [...]

Urmila Singh took over as the Governor of Himachal Pradesh in 2010. She has been the President of Madhya Pradesh Congress Committee and served as a minister in the government of Madhya Pradesh. Background Born on August 6, 1946 in village Fingeshwar in Raipur district, earlier part of Madhya Pradesh, now part of the new state of Chattisgarh, she belongs to a family of freedom fighters. Her great grandfather Raja Natwar Singh, a martyr, was [...]

About Trivendra Singh Rawat is the present chief minister of Uttarakhand. Rawat was an active member of the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh during the period 1979 to 2002. He was the organising secretary of the Uttarakhand region. In the State’s first legislative assembly elections in 2002, he was elected from Doiwala constituency. Retaining seat in the 2007 elections, he served as the Minister of Agriculture in Uttarakhand. As a member of the Bharatiya Janata Party, he [...]