Home   »   Government & Politics

Category Archives: Government & Politics

Okram Ibobi Singh has been the Chief Minister of the Northeastern state of Manipur since March 2002. He became the Chief Minister for the third time in 2012. He has served two full terms as Chief Minister in the face of insurgency and political turmoil in the state. He belongs to the Indian National Congress party and was elected to the Manipur Legislative Assembly from Thoubal, Inner Manipur constituency. Background He was born on 19 [...]

About Nongthombam Biren Singh is a former footballer and journalist and currently the chief minister of Manipur. He started his career as a footballer and was recruited in the Border Security Force (BSF), where he played in its team, though in domestic competitions. He stepped down from his position in BSF and joined journalism. In 1992, he started a vernacular daily Naharolgi Thoudang and worked as its editor till 2001. In 2002, he turned to [...]

Nitish Kumar served as the Chief Minister of Bihar from November 2005 till May 2014, until he resigned from his post due to JD(U)’s poor performance in the 2014 general elections in Bihar. He belongs to the Janata Dal (United) party and is credited with initiating a series of developmental and infrastructure reforms in Bihar, one of the most backward states in the country. Appointment of teachers in schools, healthcare reforms, relaying of roads among [...]

Neiphiu Rio Neiphiu Rio took over as the Chief Minister of the northeastern state of Nagaland on 12 March 2008. He led the Democratic Alliance of Nagaland (DAN) a coalition of Nagaland regional parties and the state BJP. Neiphiu Rio belongs to the Nagaland People’s Front (NPF) and contested the Assembly election from Northern Angami constituency of Nagaland in 2008. Background Rio belongs to the Angami tribe of Nagaland. He was born on 11 November [...]

Neelam Sanjiva Reddy was the sixth President of India who served his tenure from 1977 to 1982. Born on 18th May, 1913 in Andhra Pradesh into a peasant family, he completed his primary education from Madras(presently Chennai). His school had a spiritual atmosphere, which created a deep impact on his young mind. The turning point in Sanjiva Reddy’s life came when he first met Mahatma Gandhi who visited Anantapur in July 1929. He was highly [...]

About Naveen Patnaik Naveen Patnaik has been the Chief Minister of Odisha (Orissa) since March 2000. He was sworn in to the position for a third consecutive term on May 21, 2009. He is the founder and president of Biju Janata Dal, a regional party based in Odisha. This articulate writer returned to India and joined politics after his father Biju Patnaik’s demise in 1996. He was elected from Hinjili constituency in Ganjam district in [...]

Narinder Nath Vohra, career bureaucrat and former IAS officer, took over as the Governor of Jammu & Kashmir in 2008. After his retirement from the IAS, the distinguished civil servant went on to head various national bodies and task forces. He was awarded the Padma Vibhushan in 2007 for his service to the nation. Background He was educated in Punjab and then later was a visiting fellow at Queen Elizabeth House, Oxford in United Kingdom. [...]

Narendra Modi Biography

Narendra Damodardas Modi has emerged as the indisputable champion of the Lok Sabha Election 2014 by delivering the party’s best results ever in the general election of India. Modi, who worked as a tea-seller in his childhood, has come a very long way to have excelled in the report card of the world’s largest-ever electoral exercise. He will now serve the nation as the Prime Minister, with the goal of implementing the Gujarat model of [...]

Fifty one year old, Nillari Kiran Kumar Reddy was sworn in as the 16th Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh on 25 November 2010. He has been a member of the Congress party and has steadily risen from the ranks of a student leader, to the present august office. He belongs to a political lineage, as his father too was a congress politician. Mr Reddy was elected on a Congress ticket from Pileru constituency in Chittoor [...]

Nabam Tuki succeeded Jarbom Gamlin as the seventh Chief Minister of Arunachal Pradesh. He was sworn in by the Governor Joginder Jaswant Singh on 1st November 2011. Mr Tuki was elected on a Congress ticket from Sagalee constituency of Arunachal Pradesh in 2009. Background He was born on 7th July 1964 at Ompuli near Sagalee in Papum Pare district of Arunachal. His father is Shri Nabam Takeh. Mr Tuki belongs to the Nyishi tribal community [...]