IPL 8 Begins - T20 thrill is back  |  Cricketers to Watch Out for in IPL 2015  |  Players Selection Process for Indian Cricket Team

2011 Cricket World Cup

2011 Cricket World Cup will be the tenth international cricket world cup. It will be co-hosted by three South Asian countries: India, Bangladesh, and Sri Lanka. All the matches will be played on the format of One Day International.

14 teams will participate in this tournament. The tournament will start on February 19 and will be continued until April 2. The opening ceremony of the cricket world cup will take place in Bangladesh at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Dhaka, the capital of Bangladesh. The opening ceremony is scheduled to happen on February 17.

All the matched will be played on Round Robin and Knock Out format. The 14 teams are selected from 104 entrant teams. There are total 49 matches to play in this tournament. There are 18 umpires and one reserve umpire to conduct the tournament.

List of umpires at 2011 Cricket World Cup

  • Simon Taufel
  • Bruce Oxenford
  • Marais Erasmus
  • Amish Saheba
  • Richard Kettleborough
  • Kumar Dharmasena
  • Billy Bowden
  • Rod Tucker
  • Asad Rauf
  • Ian Gould
  • Asoka de Silva
  • Steve Davis
  • Dominica Billy Doctrove
  • Nigel Llong
  • Shavir Tarapore
  • Tony Hill
  • Daryl Harper
  • Aleem Dar

Hosts of 2011 Cricket World Cup

India, Sri Lanka, and Bangladesh will host the next cricket world cup. Earlier Pakistan was one of the co-hosts of the tournament. However, due to the political unrest in the country, all the matches, which are scheduled to take place in Pakistan, have been given to other co-hosts. The place of Pakistan has been awarded to Bangladesh. The headquarter of the cricket world cup was situated in Pakistan, Lahore, which is now shifted to Mumbai, India. Among the 14 matched were scheduled to take place in Pakistan, 8 are given to India, 2 to Bangladesh, and 4 to Sri Lanka.

Teams of 2011 Cricket World Cup: There are 14 teams participating to this tournament, which are being divided into two groups.

Group A

Group B

Schedule of 2011 Cricket World Cup: The first match of group A will take place on 20 February. Four matches will be played at 9.30 and the rest of the matches will be played at 14.30. There are total 21 matches to play in this group. The first match of group B will be played on 19 February. Five matches will be played at 9.30 and the rest of the matches will be played at 14.30. There are collectively 21 matches to be played in this group.

The quarter finals will be played on 23 March, 24 March, 25 March, and 26 March, between Group A1 Vs Group B3, Group A2 Vs Group B4, Group A4 Vs Group B2, and Group A3 Vs Group B1 respectively. The semi finals will be played on 29 March and 30 March between Winners of 1st and 2nd Quarterfinals and Winners for 3rd and 4th Quarterfinals. The final match will be played on April 2 at 14.30 PM.

Last Updated : June 27, 2019



Which States Share Boundary with China?India, in total, shares land borders with 6 sovereign countries. China is one of those. Below are the Indian states which share borders with the country. 1. Jammu and Kashmir This northern state of India is mostly located in the Himalayan mountains. It shares a… Read More...
Which States Share Boundaries with Pakistan? There are four states that share a border with Pakistan, namely, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, and Gujarat. The India Pakistan Border is quite intriguing. Since India has installed 1,50,000 flood lights on… Read More...
Which Places in India Still Largely Speak Sanskrit?Sanskrit is considered as Dev Bhasha, the language of Gods. It has a history of around 3500 years. It used to be a primary language of ancient India. Its earliest form Vedic Sanskrit, was prevalent from 1500 500 BCE. However, it is fading… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow editorialcalls.org for border and boundary demarcations