IPL 8 Begins - T20 thrill is back  |  Cricketers to Watch Out for in IPL 2015  |  Players Selection Process for Indian Cricket Team

2011 Cricket World Cup West Indies Team

2011 Cricket World Cup West Indies Team has been announced recently. They have declared a squad of 30 players, out of which they will select final 15 players, which will play in this tournament.

West Indies participated in the world cup tournament since the first world cup in 1975. They were the champions of 1975 and 1979 world cup tournaments. In 1983, they were the runner up team while in other world cup tournaments, they did not perform well.

West Indies team will take part in the next world cup in 2011, which will be hosted by India, Sri Lanka, and Bangladesh. West Indies belongs to the group B along with India, Bangladesh, England, Ireland, South Africa, and Netherlands.

The match schedule of West Indies Team 2011 Cricket World Cup is given below

Date Time Teams Venue
24 February 14.30 South Africa Vs West Indies New Delhi
28 February 14.30 West Indies Vs Netherlands New Delhi
4 March 14.30 Bangladesh Vs West Indies Dhaka
11 March 9.30 Ireland Vs West Indies Mohali
17 March 14.30 England Vs West Indies Chennai
20 March 14.30 India Vs West Indies Chennai

Announced 2011 Cricket World Cup West Indies Team: The confirmed team is as follows:

Captain of West Indies team

Darren Sammy, the 27 year old pace bowler will lead the team in the 2011 world cup. He is a right handed batsman and a right arm medium fast bowler.

Wicket Keepers of West Indies Team

Carlton Baugh Jr., Denesh Ramdin, and Devon Thomas are the wicket keepers of West Indies Cricket Team.

Opening batsman of West Indies Team

Chris Gayle, Adrian Barath, and Devon Smith are the three opening batsmen of the team. Chris Gayle is a 31 year old left handed batsman.

Middle order batsman of West Indies Team

Darren Bravo, Shiv Chanderpaul, and Ramnaresh Sarwan are the middle order batsmen of the team.

All-rounders in West Indies Team

Dwayne Bravo, Dave Bernard Jr. and Kieron Pollard are the all-rounders of the team.

Pace bowlers of West Indies Team

Lionel Baker, Ravi Rampaul, Nelon Pascal, Kemar Roach, Andre Russell, and Gavin Tonge are the pace bowlers of the team.

Spin Bowlers of West Indies Team

Spin bowling of West Indies team depends on Shane Shillingford, Nikita Miller, and Sulieman Benn.

In the list, there are a few players, whose manes are not in the final team list yet. They are:
  • Devendra Bishoo
  • Kirk Edwards
  • Kieran Powell
  • Ryan Hinds
  • Jason Holder
  • Jonathan Carter
  • Tino Best
  • Anthony Martin

Last Updated on 01 April 2011

  Related Links