IPL 8 Begins - T20 thrill is back  |  Cricketers to Watch Out for in IPL 2015  |  Players Selection Process for Indian Cricket Team

2011 Cricket World Cup South African Team

South African team for 2011 Cricket World Cup is announced in Johannesburg. They have announced a preliminary squad for the coming world cup. South Africa team is a part of the Group B in this tenth World Cup along with Bangladesh, India, England, Ireland, Netherlands, and West Indies.

The South African National Cricket Team took participation in the world cup tournament from 1992 world cup. The team had qualified until Semi Finals in 1992, 1999, and 2007 world cup and until Quarter finals in 1996. 2003 world cup was not great for the team, since they did not go beyond the first round matches. In 2011 World Cup, which will be hosted by India, Bangladesh, and Sri Lanka, all the South African matches will be hosted by India.

The match schedule of South African team is given below

Date Time Teams Venue
24 February 14.30 South Africa Vs West Indies New Delhi
3 March 9.30 South Africa Vs Netherlands Mohali
6 March 14.30 England Vs South Africa Chennai
12 March 14.30 India Vs South Africa Nagpur
15 March 14.30 South Africa Vs Ireland Kolkata
19 March 9.30 Bangladesh Vs South Africa Dhaka

Announced South African team for World Cup 2011

There are 30 players in the list of the primary South African squad, which will be cut down to 15 players.

Graeme Smith

Graeme Smith, the 29 year old batsman is the captain of the South African team. He is a right arm off break bowler and a left handed batsman.

Hashim Amla

The 27 year old batsman of South Africa is a right handed batsman. He also bowls in right arm medium and right arm off break forms.

Jacques Kallis

The 35 year old all rounder of South Africa is a right handed batsman and a right arm off break bowler.

AB de Villiers

The 26 year old right handed batsman is also a right arm medium bowler. He is the wicket keeper of the team.

Colin Ingram

Colin Ingram is a 25 year old left handed batsman in South African National cricket team.

Morne Morkel

This left handed batsman is 26 years of age. He is a right hand fast bowler.

Dale Steyn

The 27 year old is a right handed batsman and right arm fast bowler.

Wayne Parnell

The 21 year old is a young left arm medium fast bowler and a left handed batsman.

Lonwabo Tsotsobe

The 26 year old right arm fast bolwer is a right handed bowler in the South African team.

Johan Botha

The right handed 28 year old all rounder is also a right arm off break bowler.

J.P. Duminy

Faf du Plessis

Robin Peterson

Morne van Wyk

Imran Tahir

Corrie van Zyl


Apart from these names, there are a few names included in the list:
  • Jacques Rudolph
  • Jonathan Vandiar
  • David Miller
  • Thami Tsolekile
  • Dean Elgar
  • Rusty Theron
  • Ethy Mbhalati
  • Johannes van der Wath

Last Updated on 01 April 2011

  Related Links