IPL 8 Begins - T20 thrill is back  |  Cricketers to Watch Out for in IPL 2015  |  Players Selection Process for Indian Cricket Team

2011 Cricket World Cup New Zealand Team

The 2011 Cricket World Cup is approaching us fast. All the international cricket teams are gearing up for the event. No other team seems to be as much desperate as the New Zealand Team to win this title of Cricket World Cup 2011.

Nicknamed as the Black Caps, the New Zealand team played for the 1st time against Team England in the year 1920-30. The 1st ODI played by Team New Zealand was in the year 1972-73 against the Pakistan Cricket team.

In spite of reaching the semi finals of the World Cup, quite a number of times like in the years 1975, 1979, 1992, 1999 and 2007, yet the New Zealand Cricket team has never been able to win it. This time however, 2011 Cricket World Cup New Zealand Team is definitely hoping and will surely give in their best to take away the World Cup. Below is the performance list of the New Zealand Cricket Team in the World Cups:
  • 2007: 3rd Place
  • 2003: 5th Place
  • 1999: Semi Finals
  • 1996: Quarter Finals
  • 1992: Semi Finals
  • 1987: First round
  • 1983: First round
  • 1979: Semi Finals
  • 1975: Semi Finals
In 2011, the New Zealand Team belong to Group A, and will be starting the world cup by competing against Australia, New Zealand, Sri Lanka, Pakistan, Zimbabwe, Canada and Kenya.

Warm Up Matches for New Zealand Team

  • 12 Feb, 2011, Ireland vs New Zealand, Vidarbha Cricket Association Ground, Nagpur

  • Feb 16, 2011, India vs New Zealand, MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai

Team Matches for New Zealand Team

Feb 20, 2011 New Zealand vs Kenya MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai
Feb 25, 2011 Australia vs New Zealand VCA Stadium Nagpur
Mar 4, 2011 New Zealand vs Zimbabwe Sardar Patel Stadium, Ahmedabad
Mar 8, 2011 Pakistan vs New Zealand, Pallekelle International Cricket Stadium, Kandy
Mar 13, 2011 New Zealand vs Canada Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai
Mar 18, 2011 Sri Lanka vs New Zealand Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai

The squad for the 2011 Cricket World Cup New Zealand Team includes the players mentioned below. On January 19th 2011, the number of players will be reduced to 15. The key players who are expected to excel in the event consist of Vettori, Brendon McCullum, Ross Taylor, Shane Bond and Kyle Mills.

Further, 7 players who were untried in any one-day international, have been selected in the squad for 30. This includes players like Brent Arnel, Luke Woodcock Dean Brownlie, Adam Milne, Doug Bracewell, Rob Nicol, and Reece Young.

New Zealand Cricket World Cup Squad, 2011

Batsman Age Bowling Style Batting Style
Martin Guptill 24 Right-Arm Off-Break Right-Handed Batsman
Jamie How 29 Right-arm medium, Right-arm offbreak Right-hand Batsman
James Franklin 30 Left-Arm Medium-Fast Left-Handed Batsman
Kyle Mills 31 Right-Arm Medium-Fast Right-Handed Batsman
Brendon McCullum 29 Right-Arm Medium Right-Handed Batsman
Nathan McCullum 30 Right-Arm Off-Break Right-Handed Batsman
Jacob Oram 32 Right-Arm Fast-Medium Left-Handed Batsman
Jesse Ryder 26 Right-Arm Medium Left-Handed Batsman
Tim Southee 22 Right-Arm Medium-Fast Right-Handed Batsman
Scott Styris 35 Right-Arm Medium Right-Handed Batsman
Ross Taylor 26 Right-Arm Off-Break Right-Handed Batsman
Daniel Vettori 31 Slow Left-Arm Orthodox Left-Handed Batsman
Kane Williamson 20 Right-arm offbreak Right-hand Batsman
Luke Woodcock 28 Slow left-arm orthodox Left-hand Batsman
Hamish Bennett 23 Right-arm medium-fast Left-hand Batsman

Last Updated on 01 April 2011

  Related Links