IPL 8 Begins - T20 thrill is back  |  Cricketers to Watch Out for in IPL 2015  |  Players Selection Process for Indian Cricket Team

2011 Cricket World Cup Sri Lankan Team

The 2011 Cricket World Cup is the 10th Cricket World Cup that will be hosted by 3 Asian cricket playing nations namely, India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh.

The national cricket team of Sri Lanka is the Sri Lankan cricket team. The Sri Lankan team 1st played the international cricket in the year 1926-27. The team got the test status in the year 1981. Sri Lanka Cricket administers the Sri Lankan Team. The team emerged as a major cricket playing team during the period of 1990s. The team first won the Cricket World Cup in the year 1996 after defeating the Australian Team. In the Cricket World Cup of 2007, Sri Lankan Cricket Team emerged as the runners up.

The Sri Lankan Cricket Team is all set to participate at the 2011 Cricket World Cup. Belonging to Group A, the 2011 Cricket World Cup Sri Lankan Team will compete with the other teams in the Group A, namely, Australia, Canada, New Zealand, Kenya, Zimbabwe, Pakistan. Find below the list of warm up matches and the team matches for the 2011 Cricket World Cup Sri Lankan Team:

Warm-up Matches for Sri Lankan Team

    12 Feb, 2011 9:30 AM Sri Lanka v the Netherlands,Pallekele

  • 16 Feb, 2011 9:30 AM Sri Lanka v West Indies,Colombo

Team Matches for Srilanka

20th February Sunday Canada Vs Sri Lanka Hambantota International Cricket Stadium,
26th February Saturday Pakistan Vs Sri Lanka R. Premadasa Stadium, Colombo
1st March Tuesday Kenya Vs Sri Lanka R. Premadasa Stadium, Colombo
5th March Saturday Australia Vs Sri Lanka R. Premadasa Stadium, Colombo
10th March Thursday Zimbabwe Vs Sri Lanka Pallekele International Cricket Stadium, Kandy
18th March Friday New Zealand Vs Sri Lanka Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai

The 2011 Cricket World Cup Sri Lankan Team that has been officially approved by the Honorable Minister of Sports for the World Cup 2011, is listed below.

Veterans like Sanath Jayasuriya and Chaminda Vaas are there in the 30 member squad that is to be prepared for the 2011 World Cup. Nuwan Pradeep, the fast bowler, is the sole uncapped player in the Sri Lankan squad.

Batsman Bowling Style Batting Style Age
Kumar Sangakkara (Captain ) Right-Arm Medium Bowler Left-Handed Batsman 33
Mahela Jayawardena ( V. Captain) Right-Arm Medium Right-Handed Batsman 33
Upul Tharanga - Left-Handed Batsman 25
T.M Dilshan Right-Arm Off-Break Right-Handed Batsman 34
Thilan Samaraweera Right-Arm Off-Break Right-Handed Batsman 34
Chamara Silva Right-Arm Leg-Break Right-Handed Batsman 31
Chamara Kapugedara Right-Arm Medium Right-Handed Batsman 23
Angelo Mathews Right-Arm Fast-Medium Right-Handed Batsman 23
Tissara Perera Right-Arm Medium-Fast Left-Handed Batsman 21
Muttiah Muralitharan Right-Arm Off-Break Right-Handed Batsman 38
Rangana Hearth Slow Left-Arm Orthodox Left-Handed Batsman 33
Lasith Malinga Right-Arm Fast Right-Handed Batsman 27
Ajantha Mendis Right-Arm Off-Brea/ Right-Arm Leg-Break Right-Handed Batsman 25
Nuwan Kulasekera Right-Arm Fast-Medium Right-Handed Batsman 28
Dilhara Fernando Right-Arm Fast-Medium Right-Handed Batsman 31

Last Updated on 01 April 2011

  Related Links