IPL 8 Begins - T20 thrill is back  |  Cricketers to Watch Out for in IPL 2015  |  Players Selection Process for Indian Cricket Team

Sher-e- Bangla Cricket Stadium - Dhaka

The Sher-e- Bangla Cricket Stadium in Dhaka was established in 2006. Initially the cricket ground was known as Mirpur Stadium but was later renamed as Sher-e- Bangla Cricket Stadium by the government of Bangladeshi. One of the larger cricket grounds in Bangladesh the Sher-e- Bangla Cricket Stadium offer a seating capacity of 35,000 spectators.

Named after AK Fazlul Haque one of the reputed freedom fighters of Bangladesh the stadium is situated in the Mirpur Thana district of Dhaka.

A stadium dedicated solely to the game of cricket this cricket ground in Dhaka was built much opposition and criticism.

The stadium is noted exclusively for its infrastructure and drainage system. Initially the ground was rectangular in shape because it was used as a football ground.

Later on when the stadium was selected as a venue only for cricket matches the shape changed. The entire stadium underwent refurbishment and was fitted with all the amenities suited for playing cricket.

Click to View Sher-e- Bangla Stadium Location Map
Sher-e- Bangla Cricket Stadium Location Map
The first ever match played on this ground was between India and Bangladesh in 2007. The wicket of this ground is said to be slow and suited for bowlers. New renovations are being done so as to facilitate the upcoming 2011 world cup series. The matches scheduled to be held in this ground include;

Group matches

  • 19 February, 14.30, India Vs Bangladesh, Dhaka
  • 25 February, 9.30, Bangladesh Vs Ireland, Dhaka
  • 4 March, 14.30, Bangladesh Vs West Indies, Dhaka
  • 19 March, 9.30, Bangladesh Vs South Africa, Dhaka


  • 23 March, 14.30, Group A1 Vs Group B3, Dhaka
  • 25 March, 14.30, Group A4 Vs Group B2, Dhaka


Sher-e- Bangla Cricket Stadium Location Map
Sher-e- Bangla Cricket Stadium Location Map
Print Email Save   Buy Now
*Map Showing the Location of Sher-e- Bangla Cricket Stadium.

Disclaimer: All efforts have been made to make this image accurate. However Compare Infobase Limited and its directors do not own any responsibility for the correctness or authencity of the same.


Last Updated on 01 April 2011

  Related Links  


Which States Share Boundary with China?India, in total, shares land borders with 6 sovereign countries. China is one of those. Below are the Indian states which share borders with the country. 1. Jammu and Kashmir This northern state of India is mostly located in the Himalayan mountains. It shares a… Read More...
Which States Share Boundaries with Pakistan? There are four states that share a border with Pakistan, namely, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, and Gujarat. The India Pakistan Border is quite intriguing. Since India has installed 1,50,000 flood lights on… Read More...
Which Places in India Still Largely Speak Sanskrit?Sanskrit is considered as Dev Bhasha, the language of Gods. It has a history of around 3500 years. It used to be a primary language of ancient India. Its earliest form Vedic Sanskrit, was prevalent from 1500 500 BCE. However, it is fading… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow editorialcalls.org for border and boundary demarcations